Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI)
Race & Ethnicity
Classification of Race and Ethnicity
The classification of race and ethnicity have limitations and challenges. Within the healthcare field it is acknowledged however that there are benefits from collecting data based on these categories (AHRQ, 2018). Through awareness of these classification conscious insights can be drawn from the lived experience of these communities and the effects on their health (Wagner et. al., 2017).
The Race & Ethnicity section of this guide was prepared based on the Office of Management and Budget (OMB) ethnicity categories, which constitute a standard for federally sponsored statistical data collection in the United States.
HSC also provides campus specific resources for Race & Ethnicity
Resources Related to Race & Ethnicity
Acceptance of Mental Illness: Promoting Recovery Among Culturally Diverse Groups by ISBN: 9780190204273Publication Date: 2016
Clinical Care of the Child with Obesity: a Learner's and Teacher's Guide by
BOOK CHAPTER: Cultural Considerations For Effective Obesity Prevention And Intervention: This work provides a stepwise approach to introducing you to the complex issue of childhood obesity.
ISBN: 9780071819718Publication Date: 2015
Cultural Competence in the Care of Muslim Patients and Their Families by
Delivering high-quality care to patients of the Muslim faith requires an understanding of the differences in cultural and spiritual values. Important differences include diet, ideas of modesty, privacy, touch restriction, and alcohol intake restriction.
Publication Date: 2021
The Diversity Promise: Success in Academic Surgery and Medicine Through Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion by
Issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion are of utmost importance in today's medical schools, and the University of Michigan is at the forefront of effecting change in this key area of medical education. This work discusses the structure and implementation of this innovative program--information that is easily transferrable to any department in a school of medicine.
ISBN: 9781975135478Publication Date: 2020
Goldman-Cecil Medicine by
BOOK CHAPTER: Disparities in Health and Health Care: This book address nine unique and overlapping special populations of students whose life circumstances put them at greater risk for poor mental health outcomes and school failure: students who are homeless, students living in foster care, students involved with the juvenile justice system, students who are LGBTQ, students who are pregnant or parenting, students who are gifted, students with incarcerated parents, students in military families, and students who are at risk for school failure and dropout.
ISBN: 9780323532662Publication Date: 2019
Hurst's the Heart, 14th Edition by
BOOK CHAPTER: Race, Ethnicity, and Cardiovascular Disease: This work is the cornerstone text for cardiology; thoroughly updated to reflect the latest clinical perspectives and cutting-edge topics.
ISBN: 9780071843249Publication Date: 2017
Individual Diversity and Psychology in Organizations by
Workplace initiatives to manage diversity seek to fully develop the potential of each employee and turn their unique skills into a business advantage. Such fostering of difference enhances team creativity, innovation and problem-solving and is therefore an essential strategy for today's employers.
ISBN: 9780471499718Publication Date: 2003- Intercultural Communication by
Examines culture as a variable in interpersonal and collective communication. This work explores the opportunities and problems arising from similarities and differences in communication patterns, processes, and codes among various cultural groups. It explores cultural universals, social categorization, stereotyping and discrimination, with a focus on topics including race, ethnicity, social class, religion, gender and sexuality as they relate to communication.
Publication Date: 2020
Medical Management of Vulnerable and Underserved Patients: Principles, Practice, Populations, Second Edition by
This resource teaches the core principles and skills needed to care for patients whose barriers to healthcare are due to lack of insurance and/or accessible services, or based on culture; education; age; inadequate transportation; poor English language skills; homelessness; immigrant status; chronic disease; mental illness; substance abuse; or HIV.
ISBN: 9780071834445Publication Date: 2016
Multicultural Approaches to Health and Wellness in America [2 Volumes] by
This unique two-volume set describes the variety of cultural approaches to health practiced by people of varying cultural heritages and places them in stark context with traditional Western approaches to health care and medicine. Examining health practices such as Ayurveda, an ancient system of medicine that focuses on the body, the sense organs, the mind, and the soul; and traditional Chinese medicine (TCM), the author examines why these different approaches can explain some of the cultural variations in health behaviors, differences in why people get sick, and how they cope with illness. Traditional health care providers of all kinds--including clinicians, counselors, doctors, nurses, and social workers--will all greatly benefit by learning about vastly different approaches to health, while general readers and scholars alike will gain insight into the rich diversity of world culture and find the material fascinating.
ISBN: 9781440803505Publication Date: 2014-04-21
Public Health and Preventive Medicine: Sixteenth Edition by
BOOK CHAPTER: Race and Ethnic Health Disparities: This work provides the most current information and insights available on evidence-based public health and preventive medicine, from basic methodologies of public health to principles of epidemiology and infection control to environmental toxicology to global health.
ISBN: 9781259644511Publication Date: 2021
Rosen's Emergency Medicine: Concepts and Clinical Practice by
BOOK CHAPTER: Multiculturalism and Care Delivery:Offers the most immediately relevant content of any emergency medicine reference, providing diagnostic and treatment recommendations with clear indications and preferred actions.
ISBN: 9780323354790Publication Date: 2017
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by ISBN: 9780203866474Publication Date: 2009-12-04Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes 275 substantial entries, over 300 short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and nearly 600 glossary items. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
Taylor and Kelly's Dermatology for Skin of Color 2/e by
This work contains chapters on structure, function, biology, and the myriad of diseases occurring in patients of color as well as cosmetic issues.
ISBN: 9780071805520Publication Date: 2016
Trauma, Ninth Edition by
BOOK CHAPTER: Injury Prevention > Social Determinants of Health: This work provides thorough coverage of kinematics and the mechanisms of trauma injury, the epidemiology of trauma, injury prevention, the basics of trauma systems, triage, and transport, and more.
ISBN: 9781260143348Publication Date: 2020
Understanding Health Policy: a Clinical Approach, Eighth Edition by
CHAPTER SECTION: Race/Ethnicity and Access to Health Care: This work includes comprehensive information about health policy, as well as individual patients and caregivers and how they interact with each other and with the overall health system.
ISBN: 9781260454260Publication Date: 2020
- AccessDermatologyDxRxCollection of images covering the full scope of dermatologic conditions that include essential information to help with clinical decision-making.
- Bates' Visual Guide Communication and Interpersonal SkillsClinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a collection of statistics including demographic data, maps, profile reports, data elements and variables.
For more information on how to use the resource, please visit Social Explorer's
- Columbia Journal of Race and Law The mission of the CJRL is to establish a dialogue on historic and contemporary notions of socio-political and legal challenges facing racial and ethnic minorities.
- Ethnicity & Disease International journal that exclusively publishes information on the causal and associative relationships in the etiology of common illnesses through the study of ethnic patterns of disease.
- Ethnicity & Health Research exploring race and ethnic public health, medical, epidemiological, sociological, behavioral, psychological, and cultural issues.
- Journal Committed to Social Change on Race and Ethnicity An interdisciplinary, peer-reviewed journal published by the National Conference on Race and Ethnicity (NCORE), a production of the University of Oklahoma Outreach.
- Journal of Social Inclusion Peer-reviewed academic journal that will contribute to current knowledge and understanding of the social processes that marginalize individuals, families and communities.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert.
Cultural Diversity
("Cultural Diversity"[Mesh]) OR ((((((diversity[Title/Abstract] OR diverse[Title/Abstract]) AND (equity[Title/Abstract] or equality[Title/Abstract])) AND (inclusion[Title/Abstract] or inclusivity[Title/Abstract])) OR ((inclusion[Title/Abstract] or inclusivity[Title/Abstract]) AND (equity[Title/Abstract] or equality[Title/Abstract]))) OR ((diversity[Title/Abstract] OR diverse[Title/Abstract]) AND (inclusion[Title/Abstract] or inclusivity[Title/Abstract]))) OR ((diversity[Title/Abstract] OR diverse[Title/Abstract]) AND (equity[Title/Abstract] or equality[Title/Abstract])))
Current PubMed Cultural Diversity Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
Prejudice Racism Social Discrimination
((((("Prejudice"[Mesh]) OR (prejudice*[Title/Abstract] OR implicit bias[Title/Abstract] OR Islamophobia*[Title/Abstract] OR Anti-Semitism*[Title/Abstract])) OR ("Racism"[Mesh])) OR (racism*[Title/Abstract] OR racial bias[Title/Abstract] OR racial prejudice*[Title/Abstract] OR racial discrimination*[Title/Abstract] OR covert racism*[Title/Abstract])) OR ("Social Discrimination"[Mesh])) OR (social discrimination[Title/Abstract])
Current PubMed Prejudice Racism Social Discrimination Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
National/International Organizations
- ACOFP Minority/LBGTQI+ Resources The ACOFP has developed a Minority/LGBTQI+ Health and Wellness Committee with the mission to eliminate health disparities with the emphasis on minority and LGBTQI+ populations by providing education, resources and awareness to colleagues and patients.
- AAMC – Diversity and Inclusion Toolkit Resources Includes diversity and inclusion toolkit resources related to power and privilege; microaggressions, identity, and cross-cultural communication; AAMC resources; websites, reports, and studies.
- Academy for Diversity & Inclusion in Emergency Medicine – DEI Resource Library An online resource library of publications for emergency physicians to learn more about achieving health equity and eliminating health disparities.
- Diversity, Equity and Inclusion – Graduate Medical Education The ACGME recognizes how increasing diversity in the physician workforce positively impacts health care access and patient outcomes, a key part of the organization's mission. To maintain and reaffirm its commitment to this initiative, the ACGME has charged its Department of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion to develop and curate resources so the GME community has the knowledge and tools it needs to advance physician workforce diversity and build safe, inclusive, and equitable learning environments for physicians.
- National Diversity Council (NDC) The NDC is the first non-profit organization to bring together the private, public and non-profit sectors to discuss the many dimensions and benefits of a multicultural environment.
- Texas Diversity Council (TXDC) The Texas Diversity Council (TXDC) is committed to fostering a learning environment for organizations to grow and leverage their knowledge of diversity. Through a variety of events and programs, the TXDC serves as the premier resource for diversity best practices and leadership development in Texas.
- Advancing Equity Through Quality and Safety During COVID-19 American Medical Association Center for Health Equity
- Examining Race-Based Medicine American Medical Association Center for Health Equity
- Getting to Justice in Education AMA Center for Health Equity
- Health Equity Webinar Series: Operationalizing Racial Justice AMA Stanford Medicine
- Prioritizing Equity: Redistributive Justice AMA Center for Health Equity
- Racial Healing for Ourselves, Our Communities, and Our Future American Public Health Association Education
- Racism in Medicine: Historical Foundations and Strategies for Advancing Health Equity American Medical Association Center for Health Equity
- Reborn Not Reformed: Re-Imagining Policing for the Public's Health American Public Health Association Education
- The Root Cause American Medical Association Center for Health Equity