Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI)
Age
Ageism is a growing concern in the healthcare field. As coined by Dr. Robert Butler (1968) ageism is "prejudice by one age group towards other age groups.” Some manifestations of this prejudgment include assumption about an individual's ability to communicate or the functioning of their body. Ageism is not limited to older populations, but the majority of the literature does focus on this demographic.
Two units are dedicated to the pursuit of geriatric research at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth, the Institute for Healthy Aging and the Institute for Translational Research.
Resources Related to Age
Ageism by
Ageism: Past, Present, and Futurepresents perspectives for understanding ageism and puts ageism in the context of specific social institutions. McNamara and Williamson uniquely provide a number of complementary ways to understand ageism, including social and psychological theories of ageism, economic development, ageism as frame or lens, and ageism at the intersection of various social categories such as gender and race. They then put ageism in the context of mass media, h ealth care, employment, and public policy. This short text is an ideal addition to courses on sociology of aging, social policy, and social problems.
ISBN: 9781138202955Publication Date: 2019-06-18
Brocklehurst's Textbook of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology by
The leading reference in the field of geriatric care, Brocklehurst's Textbook of Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, 8th Edition, by Drs. Howard M. Fillit, Kenneth Rockwood, and John B. Young, provides a contemporary, global perspective on topics of importance to today's gerontologists, internal medicine physicians, and family doctors. An increased focus on frailty, along with coverage of key issues in gerontology, disease-specific geriatrics, and complex syndromes specific to the elderly, makes this 8th Edition the reference you'll turn to in order to meet the unique challenges posed by this growing patient population. Consistent discussions of clinical manifestations, diagnosis, prevention, treatment, and more make reference quick and easy. More than 250 figures, including algorithms, photographs, and tables, complement the text and help you find what you need on a given condition. Clinical relevance of the latest scientific findings helps you easily apply the material to everyday practice. A new chapter on frailty, plus an emphasis on frailty throughout the book, addresses the complex medical and social issues that affect care, and the specific knowledge and skills essential for meeting your patients' complex needs. New content brings you up to date with information on gerontechnology, emergency and pre-hospital care, HIV and aging, intensive treatment of older adults, telemedicine, the built environment, and transcultural geriatrics. New editor Professor John Young brings a fresh perspective and unique expertise to this edition.
ISBN: 9780702061851Publication Date: 2016-06-30
Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care by
Health care organizations are beginning to recognize the importance of cultural competence as it relates to efficiency, quality, and equity in the delivery of care within a competitive health care market, and Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care is designed to train mental health clinicians to deliver culturally sensitive care to an increasingly diverse patient population. Projections indicate that 35% of patients older than age 65 will be from a racial or ethnic minority group by 2050, compared with 11% in 1970. Today's mental health practitioners require knowledge, sensitivity, and an understanding of institutionalized practices and systems that undermine their patients' health and well-being. The term culture is multifaceted and may refer to one's belief system, values, religion, race, socioeconomic status, ethnicity, language, sexual orientation, geographic location, educational level, age, occupational risks and exposures, and gender. The authors of the book examine mental health care through these lenses, teaching the reader about implicit biases and potential miscommunication and offering strategies for overcoming these difficulties. The editor, who has worked in leadership positions overseeing veterans' mental health services, has assembled an impressive and diverse roster of contributors, each with specific expertise in his or her assigned subject. * The ways in which cultural competency interacts with the six Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education core competencies are explored in detail. For example, in terms of patient care, cultural competency plays an important role in gathering subjective data about a patient that may ultimately impact outcomes. Teaching methods to increase cultural sensitivity and build skills in this area are highlighted, as are training modalities and clinician evaluation.* The effects of migration and acculturation on mental health are examined, providing clinicians with several theoretical frameworks for understanding the migratory experience in older adults and exploring psychosocial factors associated with psychological risk in aging immigrants.* Linguistic competence, defined broadly as effective communication with individuals speaking a nondominant language, is an essential component of culturally competent health care and is of particular importance in mental health care. Accordingly, the authors analyze linguistic competency in both administrative and clinical encounters and present strategies for achieving mastery in this critically important area.* The text provides an abundance of tables and pedagogical features designed to enhance comprehension, including learning objectives, key points, and study questions. Cultural competence in health care systems is defined as the ability to understand and integrate the features listed above into the provision of health care services. Culture, Heritage, and Diversity in Older Adult Mental Health Care prepares clinicians to provide sensitive, high-quality, culturally competent care to geriatric patients from diverse backgrounds and will prove indispensable as patient demographics continue to change.
ISBN: 9781615372119Publication Date: 2018-08-03
The Encyclopedia of Elder Care, Fourth Edition by
A complete reference guide, providing a comprehensive yet concise guide to all the essential elements of elder care. Similar to previous editions, this third edition is meant to bridge the information gap between research and practical application. The 273 chapters provide a convenient reference source and up-to-date introduction to recent advances in gerontology and geriatrics.
ISBN: 9780826140524Publication Date: 2017
Essentials of Clinical Geriatrics, Eighth Edition by
BOOK CHAPTER: Ethical Issues in the Care of Older Persons: Up-to-date introductory guide to the core topics in geriatric medicine. Since 1984, its goal has remained unchanged: to help clinicians do a better job of caring for their older patients. You will find thorough and authoritative coverage of all the important issues in geriatrics, along with concise, practical guidance on the diagnosis and treatment of the diseases and disorders most commonly encountered in an elderly patient.
ISBN: 9781259860515Publication Date: 2017
Ham's Primary Care Geriatrics by
BOOK CHAPTER: Principles of Primary Care of Older Adults: A comprehensive, easy-to-read source of practical clinical guidance for this rapidly growing population. Using a unique, case-based approach, it covers the patient presentations you’re most likely to encounter, offering key clinical information, expert advice, and evidence-based medical guidelines throughout.
ISBN: 9780323721684Publication Date: 2021
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences by
Handbook of Aging and the Social Sciences, Eighth Edition, presents the extraordinary growth of research on aging individuals, populations, and the dynamic culmination of the life course, providing a comprehensive synthesis and review of the latest research findings in the social sciences of aging. As the complexities of population dynamics, cohort succession, and policy changes modify the world and its inhabitants in ways that must be vigilantly monitored so that aging research remains relevant and accurate, this completely revised edition not only includes the foundational, classic themes of aging research, but also a rich array of emerging topics and perspectives that advance the field in exciting ways. New topics include families, immigration, social factors, and cognition, caregiving, neighborhoods, and built environments, natural disasters, religion and health, and sexual behavior, amongst others.
ISBN: 9780124172357Publication Date: 2015-10-15
Hazzard's Geriatric Medicine and Gerontology, Seventh Edition by
BOOK CHAPTER: General Topics in Geriatric Psychiatry > Ageism: The definitive treatise on the subject of geriatrics, this comprehensive text combines gerontology principles with clinical geriatrics, offering a uniquely holistic approach to this ever-expanding area of medicine.
ISBN: 9780071833455Publication Date: 2016
Psychology and Geriatrics by
Psychology and Geriatrics demonstrates the value of integrating psychological knowledge and insight with medical training and geriatric care. Leading physician and geropsychologist contributors come together to share their collective wisdom about topics that are as emotionally uncomfortable as they are universally relevant. As the world struggles to respond to unprecedented gains in life expectancy and an explosion of new retirees living with chronic health conditions, this collaboration could not be more timely. This exceptional resource is, itself, evidence that physicians and psychologists can work together to optimize truly patient-centered geriatric care. Here at last is a scientifically rigorous, evidence-based response to the aging mind and body from those most expertly trained.
ISBN: 9780124201231Publication Date: 2015-04-15
World Growing Old by
Thought-provoking account of how the world's aging population will impact on society, offering radical solutions.
ISBN: 9781849641357Publication Date: 2003-01-01
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to key medical reference texts covering anesthesiology, behavioral medicine, cardiology, and surgery, plus drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, self-assessments, and health news.
- Geriatrics Care OnlineResources providing the latest research on caring for older adults, including books, teaching slides, pocket cards, and clinical guidelines and recommendations.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. Contains citations covering all fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and preclinical sciences.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
- Wiley Online Library - Geriatric MedicineFull-text access for many Wiley Online Library journals covering life, health, and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Age and Ageing Refereed original articles and commissioned reviews on geriatric medicine and gerontology. The range includes research on ageing and the clinical, epidemiological and psychological aspects of later life.
- Aging and Disease Aspires to publish novel and high-impact findings on central issues pertaining to the biology of aging, pathophysiology of age-related diseases, and innovative therapies for diseases afflicting the elderly population.
- Experimental Aging Research A life span developmental and aging journal dealing with research on the aging process from a psychological and psychobiological perspective. Deals with age differences and age changes at any point in the adult life span.
- The Journal of Nutrition, Health & Aging Aim is to contribute to the improvement of knowledge regarding the relationship between nutrition and the aging process from birth to old age.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms.
Ageism
("Ageism"[Mesh]) OR (ageism[Title/Abstract] OR "age discrimination*"[Title/Abstract])
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
- Administration on Aging (U.S. Department of Health & Human Services) Governmental agency formed from the Department of Health and Human Services. It provides information and support to older persons and those who work with or for the aged. This site includes state and federal government information, a list of Web sites, and statistics in all facets of elderly life as well as access to the National Aging Information Center (NAIC), another valuable resource.
- Adult Development and Aging (American Psychological Association) The American Psychological Association's Division 20 is dedicated to studying the Psychology of Adult Development and Aging.
- American Geriatrics Society Premier professional organization of health care providers dedicated to improving the health and well-being of all older adults. With an active membership of over 6,000 health care professionals, the AGS has a long history of effecting change in the provision of health care for older adults. In the last decade, the society has become a pivotal force in shaping attitudes, policies and practices regarding health care for older people.
- UNTHSC Center for Healthy Aging The mission of the Center for Healthy Aging is to serve as a focal organization for leadership in all aspects of research and education within the University of North Texas Health Science Center into the causes, diagnosis, prevention, and treatment of age-related conditions, to include neurodegenerative diseases, that afflict our population.
- UNTHSC Center for Older Adults HSC Health’s Center for Older Adults provides comprehensive services that help prevent and manage the chronic diseases and long-term illnesses that may accompany the aging process.
- National Institute on Aging (NIA) One of the National Institutes of Health, the principal biomedical research agency of the United States Government. The NIA promotes healthy aging by conducting and supporting biomedical, social, and behavioral research and public education. This site offers research, funding, health information, and related links.
- New Series of Reports to Monitor Health of Older Americans This site from the National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS) lists several news reports on the health of the elderly in America, including death and dying, vision and hearing, oral health, and nursing homes.
- Older Americans Update Current (2012): Key Indicators of Well-Being (Federal Interagency Forum on Aging) Provides the latest data on the 37 key indicators selected by the Forum for its 2004 report to portray aspects of the lives of older Americans and their families. It is divided into five subject areas: population, economics, health status, health risks and behaviors, and health care. From the Federal Interagency Forum on Aging-Related Statistics.
- SAGE National Headquarters National organization that offers supportive services and consumer resources to LGBT older people and their caregivers.
- Section on Geriatrics (American Physical Therapy Association) This is the publication from the Section on Geriatrics of the American Physical Therapy Association.
- Caring for LGBT Older Adults The National LGBTQIA+ Health Education Center