Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI)
Religion & Spirituality
Religion & Spirituality generally includes a set of beliefs or practices that contributes to the diverse identity of an individual or community. The purpose of this guide is to help users become familiar with the intersection of a patient's spiritual identity and medicine. It is important to explore because it can directly effect the patient's medical decisions and desired approach to care. As a reference, the World Christian Database (2010) identifies and follows 18 major religious categories:
|
|
Resources Related to Religion & Spirituality
Caring for Patients from Different Cultures by
"An excellent book for those interested in providing culturally responsive and effective care to our nation's increasingly diverse population"--Dr. Robert Like, Robert Wood Johnson Medical School
ISBN: 9780812218572Publication Date: 2003-11-03
Cognitive Science, Religion, and Theology by
Cognitive Science, Religion, and Theology is the eighth title published in the Templeton Science and Religion Series, in which scientists from a wide range of fields distill their experience and knowledge into brief tours of their respective specialties. In this volume, well-known cognitive scientist Justin L. Barrett offers an accessible overview of this interdisciplinary field, reviews key findings in this area, and discusses the implications of these findings for religious thought and practice. Cognitive science is the interdisciplinary study of minds and mental activity, and as such, it addresses a fundamental feature of what it is to be human. Further, in so far as religious traditions concern ideas and beliefs about the nature of humans, the nature of the world, and the nature of the divine, cognitive science can contribute both directly and indirectly to these theological concerns. Barrett shows how direct contributions come from the growing area called cognitive science of religion (CSR), which investigates how human cognitive systems inform and constrain religious thought, experience, and expression. CSR attempts to provide answers to questions such as: Why it is that humans tend to be religious? And why are certain ideas (e.g. the possibility of an afterlife) so cross-culturally recurrent? Barrett also covers the indirect implications that cognitive science has for theology, such as human similarities and differences with the animal world, freedom and determinism, and the relationship between minds and bodies. Cognitive Science, Religion, and Theology critically reviews the research on these fascinating questions and discusses the many implications that arise from them. In addition, this short volume also offers suggestions for future research, making it ideal not only for those looking for an overview of the field thus far, but also for those seeking a glimpse of where the field might be going in the future.
ISBN: 9781599474007Publication Date: 2011-10-01
Cultural Competence in the Care of Muslim Patients and Their Families by
Delivering high-quality care to patients of the Muslim faith requires an understanding of the differences in cultural and spiritual values. Important differences include diet, ideas of modesty, privacy, touch restriction, and alcohol intake restriction.
Publication Date: 2021
Ending Life by
Margaret Pabst Battin has established a reputation as one of the top philosophers working in bioethics today. This work is a sequel to Battin's 1994 volume The Least Worst Death. The last ten years have seen fast-moving developments in end-of-life issues, from the legalization ofphysician-assisted suicide in Oregon and the Netherlands to furor over proposed restrictions of scheduled drugs used for causing death, and the development of "NuTech" methods of assistance in dying. Battin's new collection covers a remarkably wide range of end-of-life topics, including suicideprevention, AIDS, suicide bombing, serpent-handling and other religious practices that pose a risk of death, genetic prognostication, suicide in old age, global justice and the "duty to die," and suicide, physician-assisted suicide, and euthanasia, in both American and international contexts.As with the earlier volume, these new essays are theoretically adroit but draw richly from historical sources, fictional techniques, and ample factual material.
ISBN: 9780195140262Publication Date: 2005-05-05
Human Behavior by
A unique approach to human behavior that integrates and interprets the latest research from cell to society Incorporating principles and findings from molecular biology, neuroscience, and psychological and sociocultural sciences, Human Behavior employs a decidedly integrative biosocial, multiple-levels-of-influence approach. This approach allows students to appreciate the transactional forces shaping life course opportunities and challenges among diverse populations in the United States and around the world. Human Behavior includes case studies, Spotlight topics, and Expert's Corner features that augment the theme of each chapter. This book is rooted in the principles of empirical science and the evidence-based paradigm, with coverage of: Genes and behavior Stress and adaptation Executive functions Temperament Personality and the social work profession Social exchange and cooperation Social networks and psychosocial relations Technology The physical environment Institutions Belief systems and ideology Unique in its orientation, Human Behavior proposes a new integrative perspective representing a leap forward in the advancement of human behavior for the helping professions. "This book is like no other HBSE textbook that I have used in my teaching career. Traditional HBSE content is included within the chapters, and the authors do an excellent job of explaining complex perspectives on human development from the genome to the brain to temperament and risks in the environment. The book challenges faculty and students to look at 21st-century HBSE." --Carmen Ortiz Hendricks, DSW, ACSW, Dorothy and David I. Schachne Dean, Wurzweiler School of Social Work, Yeshiva University "This book represents a changing of the guard and a new era of thinking. Vaughn, DeLisi, and Matto have essentially replaced the so-called classic texts with their comprehensive and integrative review of the most current and relevant theory and research that is essential in understanding the complexities of human behavior. Educators will be hard pressed to find another text that will engage, challenge, and excite students in the way this book does." --Brian Perron, PhD, Associate Professor, School of Social Work, University of Michigan
ISBN: 9781118416259Publication Date: 2013-08-12
The Link Between Religion and Health by
This book is the first to present new medical research establishing a connection between religion and health and to examine the implications for Eastern and Western religious traditions and for society and culture.The distinguished list of contributors examine a series of psychoneuroimmunology (PNI) topics that relate to religious faith and behavior. PNI studies the relationships between mental states and the nervous, endocrine, and immune systems. Among the issues it focuses upon are how mental states, ingeneral, and belief states, in particular, affect physical health. The contributors argue that religious involvement and belief can affect certain neuroendocrine and immune mechanisms, and that these mechanisms, in turn, susceptibility to cancer and recovery following surgery. This volume isessential reading for those interested in the relationship between religion and health.
ISBN: 9780195143607Publication Date: 2002-01-17
Materialities of Ritual in the Black Atlantic by
Focusing on everyday rituals, the essays in this volume look at spheres of social action and the places throughout the Atlantic world where African-descended communities have expressed their values, ideas, beliefs, and spirituality in material terms. The contributors trace the impact of encounters with the Atlantic world on African cultural formation, how entanglement with commerce, commodification, and enslavement and with colonialism, emancipation, and self-rule manifested itself in the shaping of ritual acts such as those associated with birth, death, healing, and protection. Taken as a whole, the book offers new perspectives on what the materials of rituals can tell us about the intimate processes of cultural transformation and the dynamics of the human condition.
ISBN: 9780253013910Publication Date: 2014-10-03
Mojo Workin' by
Katrina Hazzard-Donald explores African Americans' experience and practice of the herbal, healing folk belief tradition known as Hoodoo. She examines Hoodoo culture and history by tracing its emergence from African traditions to religious practices in the Americas. Working against conventional scholarship, Hazzard-Donald argues that Hoodoo emerged first in three distinct regions she calls "regional Hoodoo clusters" and that after the turn of the nineteenth century, Hoodoo took on a national rather than regional profile. The spread came about through the mechanism of the "African Religion Complex," eight distinct cultural characteristics familiar to all the African ethnic groups in the United States. The first interdisciplinary examination to incorporate a full glossary of Hoodoo culture, Mojo Workin': The Old African American Hoodoo System lays out the movement of Hoodoo against a series of watershed changes in the American cultural landscape. Hazzard-Donald examines Hoodoo material culture, particularly the ""High John the Conquer"" root, which practitioners employ for a variety of spiritual uses. She also examines other facets of Hoodoo, including rituals of divination such as the ""walking boy"" and the ""Ring Shout,"" a sacred dance of Hoodoo tradition that bears its corollaries today in the American Baptist churches. Throughout, Hazzard-Donald distinguishes between ""Old tradition Black Belt Hoodoo"" and commercially marketed forms that have been controlled, modified, and often fabricated by outsiders; this study focuses on the hidden system operating almost exclusively among African Americans in the Black spiritual underground.
ISBN: 9780252094460Publication Date: 2012-12-30
The Neural Basis of Human Belief Systems by
Is the everyday understanding of belief susceptible to scientific investigation? Belief is one of the most commonly used, yet unexplained terms in neuroscience. Beliefs can be seen as forms of mental representations and one of the building blocks of our conscious thoughts. This book provides an interdisciplinary overview of what we currently know about the neural basis of human belief systems, and how different belief systems are implemented in the human brain. The chapters in this volume explain how the neural correlates of beliefs mediate a range of explicit and implicit behaviours ranging from moral decision making, to the practice of religion. Drawing inferences from philosophy, psychology, psychiatry, religion, and cognitive neuroscience, the book has important implications for understanding how different belief systems are implemented in the human brain, and outlines the directions which research on the cognitive neuroscience of beliefs should take in the future. The Neural Basis of Human Belief Systems will be of great interest to researchers in the fields of psychology, philosophy, psychiatry, and cognitive neuroscience.
ISBN: 9780203101407Publication Date: 2012-08-21
The Routledge Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology by
Written by leading scholars in the field, this comprehensive and readable resource gives anthropology students a unique guide to the ideas, arguments and history of the discipline. Combining anthropological theory and ethnography, it includes 275 substantial entries, over 300 short biographies of important figures in anthropology, and nearly 600 glossary items. The fully revised and expanded second edition reflects major changes in anthropology in the past decade.
ISBN: 9780203866474Publication Date: 2009-12-04
Social Empathy by
Our ability to understand others and help others understand us is essential to our individual and collective well-being. Yet there are many barriers that keep us from walking in the shoes of others: fear, skepticism, and power structures that separate us from those outside our narrow groups. To progress in a multicultural world and ensure our common good, we need to overcome these obstacles. Our best hope can be found in the skill of empathy. In Social Empathy, Elizabeth A. Segal explains how we can develop our ability to understand one another and have compassion toward different social groups. When we are socially empathic, we not only imagine what it is like to be another person, but we consider their social, economic, and political circumstances and what shaped them. Segal explains the evolutionary and learned components of interpersonal and social empathy, including neurobiological factors and the role of social structures. Ultimately, empathy is not only a part of interpersonal relations: it is fundamental to interactions between different social groups and can be a way to bridge diverse people and communities. A clear and useful explanation of an often misunderstood concept, Social Empathy brings together sociology, psychology, social work, and cognitive neuroscience to illustrate how to become better advocates for justice.
ISBN: 9780231184809Publication Date: 2018-10-16
Sojourner in Islamic Lands by
Sojourner in Islamic Lands takes us on a journey from Kazakhstan in the far north of Central Asia, across the mountains to the former Soviet Union, then south to Iran just below the Caspian Sea. Russell Fraser follows the ancient Silk Road wherever possible. For centuries the Silk Road was the primary commercial link between Europe and Asia, with much of it over desert sands and accessible only by camel. Building on history and personal experience, Fraser's narrative describes this vast territory with an eye to geography, artistic culture, and religion over more than two thousand years. The book that he gives us depends first of all on travel, but the author's eye is on an interior landscape, and he focuses on the influence of religious ideology on the cultural landscape of Central Asia. Delving deeply into art and architecture, he takes them to be Islam's most significant creative expressions. Although Islam is currently the predominant religion in the region, the book also examines the two other belief systems with modern-day followers--Christianity and an antireligious sect Fraser calls secular progressivism. His aim is to present Islam to Western readers by describing its achievements during the High Middle Ages and comparing and contrasting them with those of modern Islam. The book offers insights into the history of a major world religion through the eyes of a well-known literary scholar on a journey through exotic parts of the world. He steeps us in the latter, inviting the reader to share the journey with him and participate in the sensations it gives rise to.
ISBN: 9781611173178Publication Date: 2014-01-06
Religion As a Social Determinant of Public Health by ISBN: 9780199362219Publication Date: 2014-09-11
- ArticleFirst This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database covering topics in science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.
- PsycARTICLES This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe Publishing Group.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature covering behavioral, social, psychological, and health sciences. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowFull-text access for many SAGE Journals titles covering the humanities, social sciences, science, technology, and medicine.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowFull-text journals, books, and encyclopedias covering all aspects of science, technology, and medicine.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a collection of statistics including demographic data, maps, profile reports, data elements and variables.
For more information on how to use the resource, please visit Social Explorer's
- Wiley Online Library - Religion & TheologyFull-text access for many Wiley Online Library journals covering life, health, and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Mental Health, Religion & Culture Mental Health, Religion & Culture provides an authoritative forum and a single point of reference for the growing number of professionals and academics working in the expanding field of mental health and religion.
- Psychology of Religion and Spirituality Psychology of Religion and Spirituality publishes peer-reviewed, original articles related to the psychological aspects of religion and spirituality. The journal publishes articles employing experimental and correlational methods, qualitative analyses, and critical reviews of the literature.
- Interdisciplinary Journal of Research on Religion IJRR was founded to publish very high quality, original research on religion by scholars, regardless of their field of specialization.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms.
Veterans
("religion"[MeSH Terms]) OR (religion*[Title/Abstract])OR ("spirituality"[MeSH Terms])
Current PubMed Religion & Spirituality Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
- Association of Religion Data Archives Resource that provides access to data on religion.
- BBC - Religions A resource listing several religious practices including beliefs, customs, history, holy days, and sacred text.
- Encyclopedia Mythica Encyclopedia of mythology, folklore, and religion.
- Encyclopedia of Jewish Women Features thousands of biographic and thematic essays on Jewish women around the world.
- Jewish Encyclopedia The unedited full-text of the 1906 Jewish Encyclopedia.
- Office of International Religious Freedom Reports to U.S. Congress on International Religious Freedom.
- Pew Research Center - Religion Reports prepared by the Pew Research Center on the topic of religion.
- Culturally and Linguistically Appropriate Services (CLAS) in Maternal Health Care U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
- Culturally Effective Health Care Texas Health and Human Services
- Improving Cultural Competency for Behavioral Health Professionals U.S. Department of Health & Human Services
- A Physician’s Practical Guide to Culturally Competent Care U.S. Department of Health & Human Services