Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI)
Veterans
Military personnel are a niche group and often encounter health issues that are different from civilians. These health issues can include physical injuries caused from combat, mental and emotional stress from factors like separation from family or serving in a different part of the world, as well as exposure to environmental contaminations like chemicals, poor water, and infections. While serving, injuries can become life-threatening, cause disabilities, or have a lasting impact on daily life. (National Library of Medicine, 2017)
The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth has been designated as a Military Friendly school. Learn more about available HSC veteran benefits, including telehealth services.
Resources Related to Veterans
The Battle for Veterans' Healthcare by
Without lobbying efforts and broader public understanding of what's at stake, a system now functioning far better than most private hospital systems may end up looking more like them, to the detriment of patients and providers alike.
ISBN: 9781501714573Publication Date: 2017-04-04
Care of Military Service Members, Veterans, and Their Families by
Although combat experiences are decreasing, future exposure of military service men and women is likely given ongoing worldwide operations of the U.S. military. In addition, the sequelae from these combat-related experiences and conditions will continue to impact service members’ health and functioning, as well as the health and functioning of their families, for years to come.
ISBN: 9781585625314Publication Date: 2014
Functional Assessment for Adults with Disabilities by
Assessment of individuals’ functional abilities relevant to work requirements should be an important part of determining whether they are able to meet workplace demands and sustain work
performance on a regular and continuing basis. Over the years, many tests, surveys, and instruments have been developed to collect information about individuals’ physical and mental functional abilities.
ISBN: 9780309489386Publication Date: 2019
Health Care for Veterans: Background, Education, System Reform and Improvements by
The federal government's role in providing health care to the nation's veterans can be traced back to World War I. The VA provides health care and health-related services through the Veterans Health Administration (VHA). VHA's primary mission is to provide health care services to eligible veterans and some family members. The VHA is also statutorily required to conduct medical research, to train health care professionals, to serve as a contingency backup to the Department of Defense (DOD) medical system during a national security emergency, and to provide support to the National Disaster Medical System and the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) as necessary. This book provide information about veterans' health care.
ISBN: 9781536175318Publication Date: 2020-02-14
Military Psychologists' Desk Reference by
The authoritative guide in the field of military mental health, covering in a clear and concise manner the depth and breadth of this expanding area at a pivotal and relevant time.
ISBN: 9780199928262Publication Date: 2013-07-30
Preventing Psychological Disorders in Service Members and Their Families by
This report evaluates risk and protective factors in military and family populations and suggests that prevention strategies are needed at multiple levels - individual, interpersonal, institutional, community, and societal - in order to address the influence that these factors have on psychological health. This report also reviews and critiques reintegration programs and prevention strategies for PTSD, depression, recovery support, and prevention of substance abuse, suicide, and interpersonal violence.
ISBN: 9780309297158Publication Date: 2014
Psychological Assessment of Veterans by
Psychological assessment is practiced in wide-ranging settings to address the varied clinical and administrative needs of veteran populations. Such assessment blends record review, clinical interviews of the veteran and collateral sources of information, behavioral observations, and psychological testing.This book promotes the care and well-being of veterans by bringing together knowledgeable and experienced psychologists to discuss a range of psychological assessment methods and procedures. It aims to help patients and their families, healthcare providers, and concerned citizens gain an improved understanding of veterans' cognitive functioning, emotional states, personality traits, behavioral patterns, and daily functioning.The book begins with a history of the psychological assessment of veterans and investigates its efficacy in different settings, including outpatient mental health, long-term care, primary care, home-based primary care, and telemental health. Later chapters address assessment of a variety of disorders or presenting problems, including substance use disorders, psychotic disorders, mood disorders and suicidal thoughts and behavior, PTSD and other anxiety disorders, attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder, dementia, pain and pain-related disorders, and polytrauma. The book concludes with important special considerations, including assessment of symptom and performance validity, assessment of homeless veterans and health-related quality of life, and ethical, legal, and professional issues.Psychological Assessment of Veterans provides an essential reference and guide for clinical psychologists, including those working in the subspecialties, and psychology trainees who work with veterans.
ISBN: 9780199985739Publication Date: 2014-01-01
Returning Home from Iraq and Afghanistan: Assessment of Readjustment Needs of Veterans, Service Members, and Their Families by
The study consisted of two phases. The Phase 1 task was to conduct a preliminary assessment. The Phase 2 task was to provide a comprehensive assessment of the physical, psychologic, social, and economic effects of deployment on and identification of gaps in care for members and former members, their families, and their communities.
Publication Date: 2012
Treating Military Sexual Trauma by
""Sexual assault within the military represents an ongoing epidemic that only recently has received the long-overdue attention it so desperately deserves. The health and well-being of the victims of sexual assault has just recently been acknowledged as equally important to that of the crime [itself] . . . . This book is so important in part because it continues this emphasis on caring for the victim. ". -- Carl A. Castro, Ph.D., Colonel, U.S. Army (Ret.), University of Southern California.
ISBN: 9780826127792Publication Date: 2016
Occupational Stress and Well-Being in Military Contexts by
Volume 16 of Research in Occupational Stress and Well Beingis focused on how stress and well-being shape the experiences of military personnel both in and out of the combat zone. The book examines the connections between life in or after the military and employee stress, health, and well being. Chapters in this volume include veterans' transitions into the workplace, work-family issues for military couples as well as children of parents in the military, post-traumatic stress disorder, psychopathy and emotion, the role of stress and well-being on performance in the military, resilience and stress interventions in military organizations and the use of drugs by soldiers and veterans as a coping mechanism for chronic pain. The book showcases the work of the best researchers and theorists contributing to this field to provide a multidisciplinary and international collection that gives a thorough and critical assessment of knowledge, and major gaps in knowledge, on occupational stress and well being with a view to shaping future research both in military and civilian research literatures.
ISBN: 9781787561830Publication Date: 2018-08-22
- PTSDpubsThis database, formerly called PILOTS, is produced by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs National Center for PTSD. The database provides citations and abstracts to the worldwide literature on PTSD and other psychological effects of trauma.
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text access for many Wiley Online Library journals covering life, health, and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Journal of Rehabilitation Research & Development Original scientific rehabilitation engineering papers, technical notes and procedures in the fields of prosthetics and orthotics, spinal cord injury and related neurological disorders, communication, sensory and cognitive aids and gerontology.
- Military Medicine Objective of the journal is to advance the knowledge of federal medicine by providing a forum for discussion of common ideas and problems relevant to federal health care.
- U.S. Army Medical Department journal U.S. Army Medical Department Journal is a medical journal of the medical unit of the US Army.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms.
Veterans and Military Health
("Veterans"[Mesh]) OR (veteran*[Title/Abstract]) OR ("Military Personnel"[Mesh]) OR (military[Title/Abstract]) OR "Military Health"[Mesh] OR (military health[Title/Abstract])
Current PubMed Veterans and Military Health Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
- Center for the Study of Traumatic Stress Research center's mission to advance scientific and academic knowledge, interventions, educational resources and outreach for those with Post Traumatic Stress Disorder.
- Help for Service Members and Their Families A variety of resources and services for service members and veterans from MentalHealth.gov.
- MedlinePlus.gov Veteran's & Military Health A variety of resources and services for service members and veterans from MedlinePlus.gov.
- National Center for PTSD The research and educational center of excellence on PTSD and traumatic stress
- Public Health Military Exposures Public health department for the Veteran's Association focusing on exposure to chemical, physical, and environmental hazards during military service.
- UNTHSC Veterans Benefits Did you know that UNTHSC has been designated as a 2022-2023 Military Friendly® School!
- Veterans Crisis Line Are you a Veteran in crisis or concerned about one? You're not alone—the Veterans Crisis Line is here for you. You don't have to be enrolled in VA benefits or health care to call.
- Veterans Health Administration The Veterans Health Administration provides primary care, specialized care, and related medical and social support services to American veterans.