Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI)
Neurodiversity
Neurodiversity is a term that describes the idea that people experience and interact with the world around them in many different ways; there is no one "right" way of thinking, learning, and behaving, and differences are not viewed as deficits. Neurodiversity recognizes that cognitive processes are diverse and different. Individuals will experience and interact with the world around them in different ways. Neurodiversity focuses on an individual's unique brain and their unique skills, abilities, and needs. One person's way of thinking and behaving might look different to another person, but is not a deficit.
Different types of neurodiverse conditions include but are not limited to:
- Autism
- Dyslexia
- Dyspraxia
- ADD/ADHD
- Dyscalculia
- Tourette's Syndrome
Resources Related to Neurodiversity & Dis/ability
Accessibility Denied. Understanding Inaccessibility and Everyday Resistance to Inclusion for Persons with Disabilities by
This book explores the societal resistance to accessibility for persons with disabilities, and tries to set an example of how to study exclusion in a time when numerous policies promise inclusion. With 12 chapters organised in three parts, the book takes a comprehensive approach to accessibility, covering transport and communication, knowledge and education, law and organisation. Topics within a wide cross-disciplinary field are covered, including disability studies, social work, sociology, ethnology, social anthropology, and history. The main example is Sweden, with its implementation of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities within the context of the Nordic welfare state. By identifying and discussing persistent social and cultural conditions as well as recurring situations and interactions that nurture resistance to advancing accessibility, despite various strong laws promoting it, the book's conclusions are widely transferable. It argues for the value of alternating between methods, theoretical perspectives, and datasets to explore how new arenas, resources and technologies cause new accessibility concerns -- and possibilities -- for persons living with impairments. We need to be able to follow actors closely to uncover how they feel, act, and argue, but also to connect to wider discursive and institutional patterns and systems. This book will be of interest to scholars and students of disability studies, social work, sociology, ethnology, social anthropology, political science, and organisation studies.
ISBN: 9781000512700Publication Date: 2021-11-09
The Neurodiversity Reader by
This thought-provoking collection is written for all stakeholders in relation to autism and neurodivergent conditions. Despite having wide impact on a variety of disciplines, neurodiversity and related concepts are often poorly understood, which can lead to uninformed debate and potential tensions between stakeholders regarding service provision for those with neuro-developmental disabilities. The Neurodiveristy Reader brings together work from pioneering figures within and beyond the neurodiversity movement to critically explore its history, the concepts of neurodiversity that have shaped it, lived experiences, and how a better informed understanding might be translated into practice and service provision. Through a variety of accounts, the relevance and criticisms of these concepts in understanding ourselves and one another are examined, as well as important implications for practice. A primary text for support professionals and students of neurodivergent experiences and disability, as well as neurodivergent people themselves.
ISBN: 1912755394Publication Date: 2020-08-28
A New Understanding of ADHD in Children and Adults by
For over 100 years, ADHD has been seen as essentially a behavior disorder. Recent scientific research has developed a new paradigm which recognizes ADHD as a developmental disorder of the cognitive management system of the brain, its executive functions. This cutting-edge book pulls together key ideas of this new understanding of ADHD, explaining them and describing in understandable language scientific research that supports this new model. It addresses questions like: - Why can those with ADHD focus very well on some tasks while having great difficulty in focusing on other tasks they recognize as important? - How does brain development and functioning of persons with ADHD differ from others? - How do impairments of ADHD change from childhood through adolescence and in adulthood? - What treatments help to improve ADHD impairments? How do they work? Are they safe? - Why do those with ADHD have additional emotional, cognitive, and learning disorders more often than most others? - What commonly-held assumptions about ADHD have now been proven wrong by scientific research? Psychiatrists, psychologists, social workers, and other medical and mental health professionals, as well as those affected by ADHD and their families, will find this to be am insightful and invaluable resource.
ISBN: 9781135079468Publication Date: 2013-07-18
Nothing about Us Without Us by
James Charlton has produced a ringing indictment of disability oppression, which, he says, is rooted in degradation, dependency, and powerlessness and is experienced in some form by five hundred million persons throughout the world who have physical, sensory, cognitive, or developmental disabilities. Nothing About Us Without Us is the first book in the literature on disability to provide a theoretical overview of disability oppression that shows its similarities to, and differences from, racism, sexism, and colonialism. Charlton's analysis is illuminated by interviews he conducted over a ten-year period with disability rights activists throughout the Third World, Europe, and the United States. Charlton finds an antidote for dependency and powerlessness in the resistance to disability oppression that is emerging worldwide. His interviews contain striking stories of self-reliance and empowerment evoking the new consciousness of disability rights activists. As a latecomer among the world's liberation movements, the disability rights movement will gain visibility and momentum from Charlton's elucidation of its history and its political philosophy of self-determination, which is captured in the title of his book. Nothing About Us Without Us expresses the conviction of people with disabilities that they know what is best for them. Charlton's combination of personal involvement and theoretical awareness assures greater understanding of the disability rights movement.
ISBN: 9780520925441Publication Date: 1998-03-27
The Oxford Handbook of Autism and Co-Occurring Psychiatric Conditions by
Co-occurring psychiatric conditions are extremely common among people who have autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The Oxford Handbook of Autism and Co-Occurring Psychiatric Conditions presents a compilation of the latest research in this area, summarized by internationally renowned experts. Eachchapter presents an overview of the problem or disorder including information on prevalence in ASD and in the general public and a synthesis of the research on etiology, diagnostic best practices, and evidence-based intervention approaches. Case studies bring these concepts to life, and each chapterconcludes with suggestions for future research directions in order to further develop our scientific and clinical understanding of the particular comorbidity. Given the fact that comorbidity is often a chronic and pervasive concern, this Handbook takes a lifespan approach, with each chapter touchingon developmental aspects of the targeted problem, from early childhood through adulthood. The concluding section of the Handbook is comprised of content on clinical considerations and research approaches, including chapters on medications commonly used to treat co-occurring conditions, strategiesfor managing crisis situations in this clinical population, and community partnerships within an implementation science framework.
ISBN: 9780190910761Publication Date: 2020
The Rise of Autism by
The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com/books/e/9780429285912, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license. This innovative book addresses the question of why increasing numbers of people are being diagnosed with autism since the 1990s. Providing an engaging account of competing and widely debated explanations, it investigates how these have led to differing interpretations of the same data. Crucially, the author argues that the increased use of autism diagnosis is due to medicalisation across the life course, whilst holding open the possibility that the rise may also be partly accounted for by modern-day environmental exposures, again, across the life course. A further focus of the book is not on whether autism itself is valid as a diagnostic category, but whether and how it is useful as a diagnostic category, and how the utility of the diagnosis has contributed to the rise. This serves to move beyond the question of whether diagnoses are 'real' or social constructions, and instead asks: who do diagnoses serve to benefit, and at what cost do they come? The book will appeal to clinicians and health professionals, as well as medical researchers, who are interested in a review of the data which demonstrates the rising use of autism as a diagnosis, and an analysis of the reasons why this has occurred. Providing theory through which to interpret the expanding application of the diagnosis and the broadening of autism as a concept, it will also be of interest to scholars and students of sociology, philosophy, psychiatry, psychology, social work, disability studies and childhood studies.
ISBN: 9780429285912Publication Date: 2020-12-15
Understanding Dyscalculia and Numeracy Difficulties by
Dyscalculia is a specific learning difficulty that affects the acquisition of numerical skills. A far larger number of pupils, while not dyscalculic, fail to acquire the basic numerical skills required for everyday life. Whatever the cause of poor numeracy it is essential that these difficulties are identified and addressed. This book looks at how adults can help identify each child's specific areas of difficulty and describes a multi-sensory approach that can be adapted for the needs of each student to help them better understand numbers and apply that understanding to solve problems. It covers the origins of number sense and how the brain deals with numbers, assessment, planning intervention, what to teach and how to teach it, and how parents can help their children. This straightforward guide will be essential reading for any parent, teacher or education professional working with a child with dyscalculia or numeracy difficulties.
ISBN: 9781849053907Publication Date: 2015-07-21
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. Contains citations covering all fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and preclinical sciences.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
- Wiley Online Library - Intellectual DisabilityFull-text access for many Wiley Online Library journals covering life, health, and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- American rehabilitation Official publication of the Rehabilitation Services Administration.
- Assistive technology International journal publishing research in the multi-disciplinary field of technology for people with disabilities.
- Disability and health journal Scientific, scholarly, and multidisciplinary journal for reporting original contributions that advance knowledge in disability and health.
- Mental and physical disability law reporter Summaries of reported legal developments covering disability discrimination law and civil and criminal mental disability law.
- Sexuality and disability Addresses the psychological and medical aspects of sexuality in relation to rehabilitation.
- Technology and disability Communicates knowledge about the field of assistive technology devices and services, within the context of the lives of end users - persons with disabilities and their family members.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms.
Neurodiversity
neurodiversity[Title/Abstract]
Current PubMed Neurodiversity Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
- AAHD: American Association on Health & Disability Dedicated to ensuring health equity and inclusion for persons with disabilities through policy, research, and dissemination.
- UNTHSC Office of Disability Access The Office of Disability Access at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth is committed to assisting students with disabilities and providing academic accommodations to ensure equal access.
- UNTHSC Non-Discrimination The University of North Texas Health Science Center does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, age, disability, genetic information or veteran status in its application and admission processes, educational programs and activities, university facilities, or employment policies, procedures and processes.