Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI)
What is Intersectionality?
Intersectionality is a term coined by legal scholar Kimberlé Crenshaw in 1989. It originated as a way to discuss how systems of oppression overlap and create distinct experiences for people with multiple identity categories. While this term was created by Crenshaw to explain the unique experience that Black women face in addition to racism and sexism, the word has continued to encompass more identities. (The Editors, 2020) Today, intersectionality acknowledges that we must consider everything that can marginalise people – gender, race, class, sexual orientation, physical ability, etc and that these forms of oppression can overlap. Intersectionality is very integral in political/social issues and be popularly seen in the Women's Rights Movement.
Crenshaw's works on intersectionality can be found below:
- Crenshaw, K. (1989). "Demarginalizing the Intersection of Race and Sex: A Black Feminist Critique of Antidiscrimination Doctrine, Feminist Theory and Antiracist Politics." The University of Chicago Legal Forum 1989(1).
- Crenshaw, K. (1991). "Mapping the Margins: Intersectionality, Identity Politics, and Violence against Women of Color." Stanford Law Review 43(6): 1241-1299.
Resources Related to Intersectionality
Culture, Diversity and Mental Health - Enhancing Clinical Practice by
This book discusses the importance of culture and diversity within society through multicultural, cross-cultural, and intercultural encounters while applying psychological effectiveness to manage core competencies. It carefully explains how influential the social environment is to an individual within a society. It seeks to directly affect mental health practitioners'treatment within practices in accordance to specific ethno-cultural clients; and it seeks to encourage students and practitioners to practice acceptance of diverse groups and multiracial communities. Although understanding various cultural norms and accepting diversity is not always simple, the book promotes a global understanding through identifying cultural benefits within a multiracial, multi-ethnic society, while evoking culturally competent techniques for mental health practitioners.
ISBN: 9783030264376Publication Date: 2019
Intersectionality and Higher Education by
Intersectionality is a term coined by Kimberlé Crenshaw in 1989. A scholar of law, critical race theory, and Black feminist thought, Crenshaw used intersectionality to explain the experiences of Black women who - because of the intersections of race, gender, and class - are exposed to exponential forms of marginalization and oppression. Intersectionality & Higher Education documents and expands upon Crenshaw's ideas within the context of U.S. higher education. The text includes theoretical and conceptual chapters on intersectionality; empirical research using intersectionality frameworks; and chapters focusing on intersectional practices. The volume may prove beneficial for graduate programs in ethnic studies, higher education, sociology, student affairs, and women and gender studies alike.
ISBN: 9781433125898Publication Date: 2014-09-29
Intersectionality in Action by
Colleges and universities silo diversity and inclusion by creating specific courses to address them, or programs to welcome and support people with a range of identities, whereas in reality students, faculty and staff do not encounter diversity in the fractured ways that match the organizational structures of our institutions. We all simultaneously embody a variety of identities with different saliency in different circumstances and times. This book offers models for institutions to move intentionally toward intersections - of study abroad and multiculturalism, of race and gender and religion, and of other essential aspects of our educational programs and our students' identities - to open doors to new possibilities that better prepare our students for life in a diverse world, and that allow our institutions to become more efficient and effective as we strive to not simply do things better in our own separate spheres, but to do better things by working together across difference. Each chapter offers action-oriented analysis focusing on particular campus intersections, rather than attending to specific demographic groups. Chapter authors also build on their own local expertise of doing this work on campuses that often do not have deep pockets or rich histories of such efforts. The book is organized into three sections: * Peoplefocuses on diversity broadly defined, considering questions about how we recruit and engage the students, faculty, and staff in the campus community, and how we work with governing boards and others to promote inclusive excellence. * Environmentfocuses on inclusion, including residence life, the local community, the working and learning environment, and external factors and events such as national and international news or town gown relationships. * Learningfocuses on perspective taking and learning about difference in the core curriculum, the disciplines, and the co-curriculum, as well as professional development for faculty and staff. This ground reaking book helps readers, no matter what position they occupy on campus, to develop the knowledge and capacities necessary to create inclusive classrooms and is premised on the understanding that identity, oppression, power and marginalization cannot be addressed by looking solely at single identities.
ISBN: 9781620363218Publication Date: 2016-02-10
Intersectionality in Feminist and Queer Movements by
Examining the ways in which feminist and queer activists confront privilege through the use of intersectionality, this edited collection presents empirical case studies from around the world to consider how intersectionality has been taken up (or indeed contested) by activists in order to expose and resist privilege. The volume sets out three key ways in which intersectionality operates within feminist and queer movements: it is used as a collective identity, as a strategy for forming coalitions, and as a repertoire for inclusivity. The case studies presented in this book then evaluate the extent to which some, or all, of these types of intersectional activism are used to confront manifestations of privilege. Drawing upon a wide range of cases from across time and space, this volume explores the difficulties with which activists often grapple when it comes to translating the desire for intersectionality into a praxis which confronts privilege. Addressing inter-related and politically relevant questions concerning how we apply and theorise intersectionality in our studies of feminist and queer movements, this timely edited collection will be of interest to students and scholars from across the social sciences and humanities with an interest in gender and feminism, LGBT+ and queer studies, and social movement studies.
ISBN: 0429289855Publication Date: 2019-11-26
Multicultural Perspectives in Working with Families by
Features a new intersectional approach to assessment and treatment and interweaves the perspectives of psychologists.Focusing on critical emerging issues in regard to multicultural families, the fourth edition of this popular book reflects fundamental issues surrounding assessment and treatment of families from diverse cultural backgrounds. The most effective treatment methods for working with culturally diverse families across the life cycle are covered in detail. Individual chapters focus on a variety of distinct ethnic groups including African American, Hispanics, Asian-American, Native American, and Arab American, as well as the needs of LGBTQ multicultural families and the role of spirituality. The text underlines the importance of an intersectional approach to working with families that, in addition to culture and ethnicity, also considers socioeconomic class, gender, age, religion, immigration status, and sexual orientation as important factors. Additionally, the text expands its direct-practice view with the addition of four new chapters written by psychologists, plus a new chapter on health issues in multicultural families and access to health services. The text is updated with the latest knowledge and research, along with new and revised case vignettes demonstrating culturally competent practice. New to the Fourth Edition: Provides a new intersectional approach to assessment and treatment Adds the perspectives of psychologists in four completely new chapters Includes a new chapter on DSM5 from a multicultural perspective, plus new chapters on health and access to health services Offers the most up-to-date knowledge and research Provides new and updated case vignettes Reflects changes in the family unit over the last quarter century and how it impacts treatment Addresses distinct sociopolitical issues affecting immigrants and undocumented families Key Features:Focuses on the most important emerging issues of multicultural families Covers multicultural mental health across the lifespan Encompasses the distinct perspectives of different ethnic and racial groups, and those of LGBTQ families Discusses domestic violence and substance abuse in regard to multicultural families Delineates the most effective treatment methods Examines the culturagram as a useful assessment and treatment planning modality Addresses ethical issues including the NASW code of ethics
ISBN: 9780826154149Publication Date: 2020-05-28
Psychiatric Interviewing by
BOOK CHAPTER: Culturally Adaptive Interviewing: The Challenging Art of Exploring Culture, Worldview, and Spirituality: The text provides a compelling introduction to all of the core interviewing skills from conveying empathy, effectively utilizing open-ended questions, and forging a powerful therapeutic alliance to sensitively structuring the interview while understanding nonverbal communication at a sophisticated level. Updated to the DSM-5, the text also illustrates how to arrive at a differential diagnosis in a humanistic, caring fashion with the patient treated as a person, not just another case.
ISBN: 9781437716986Publication Date: 2016
Textbook of Physical Diagnosis by
BOOK CHAPTER: Deconstructing Racism and Bias in Clinical Medicine: Mastering each aspect of the patient interview and physical exam is fundamental to medical education, resulting in more accurate diagnostic skills, more effective patient management, and better patient outcomes.
ISBN: 9780323672924Publication Date: 2020
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide by
Provides a roadmap for clinicians to provide culturally responsive care that meets the primary, preventive, and specialty health needs of transgender and gender diverse adult patients.
ISBN: 9781260459937Publication Date: 2021
Women's Health Across the Lifespan by
BOOK CHAPTER: LGBT, Race, Ethnicity, Religion, and Cultural Sensitivity > Intersectionality: A groundbreaking publication, a unique primary reference developed to help educate pharmacy students, pharmacists and other health care professionals in an area of deservedly growing interest and importance. This book contains contributions from more than 150 clinical experts in pharmacy, medicine and nursing.
ISBN: 9781585281947Publication Date: 2010
- Global Health (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowCitations covering all aspects of public health from key literature, including journals, books, conference proceedings, theses, and patents.
- HeinOnline This link opens in a new windowCoverage of law and law-related journals and other documents, plus legal history resources. Collections include Law Journal Library, American Association of Law Libraries (AALL), American Law Institute Library, Congress and the Courts, Early American Case Law, and U.S. Code.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
- International Journal of Transgenderism Offers an international, multidisciplinary scholarly forum for publication in the field of transgender health in its broadest sense for academics, practitioners, policy makers, and the general population.
- Transgender Health First peer-reviewed journal dedicated to addressing the healthcare needs of transgender individuals throughout their lifespan and identifying gaps in knowledge as well as priority areas where policy development and research are needed to achieve healthcare equity.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms.
Intersectionality
intersectionality[Title/Abstract]
Current PubMed Intersectionality Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
- National Conference for Community and Justice Human relations organization that promotes inclusion and acceptance by providing education and advocacy while building communities that are respectful and just for all. Celebrating the diversity of races, religions, cultures, genders, abilities & sexual orientations.
- Application of Health Equity Johns Hopkins Center for Health Equity
- How the Past Informs the Present in Health Care AMA Center for Health Equity
- The Intersection of Infection Prevention and Control and Health Equity AMA Project Firstline
- Prioritizing Equity: Critical Race Theory and Intersectionality AMA Center for Health Equity
- Social Determinants of Health AMA Center for Health Equity
- Strengthening the Public Health Infrastructure to Battle Crises AMA Center for Health Equity