Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI)
Hispanic/Latinx
Hispanic/Latinx is a broad term that encompasses people from a Spanish speaking country or decent from ancestors from a Spanish speaking country. Hispanic/Latinx may include many identities and be mindful that some identify themselves as Hispanic/Latinx, but others choose to be identified by their country of origin, e.g., of Colombian descent. The resources in this guide focus on healthcare, treatment and the wellbeing of those in the Hispanic/Latinx community as well as increase education on groups within the community.
Resources Related to Hispanic / Latinx
Advancing the Science of Cancer in Latinos by
This open access book gives an overview of the sessions, panel discussions, and outcomes of the Advancing the Science of Cancer in Latinos conference, held in February 2018 in San Antonio, Texas, USA, and hosted by the Mays Cancer Center and the Institute for Health Promotion Research at UT Health San Antonio. Latinos - the largest, youngest, and fastest-growing minority group in the United States - are expected to face a 142% rise in cancer cases in coming years.
ISBN: 3030292851Publication Date: 2019-12-03
Cosmetic Dermatology for Skin of Color by
BOOK CHAPTER: Special Considerations in Latino Skin: Explains how patient assessment, surgical intervention, and medical treatment (including cosmeceuticals) differ for patients with pigmented skin.
ISBN: 9780071487764Publication Date: 2009
Global Mental Health by
Global Mental Health provides an outline of the field of mental health with a particular focus on Latin America and the Spanish-speaking world. The book details evidence-based approaches being implemented globally and presents ongoing state of the art research on major mental disorders taking place in Latin America, including work being done on understanding Alzheimer's, Bipolar Disorder, Schizophrenia, and other psychoses. While supporting the initiative for building capacity of care in low income countries, the book warns about some of the potential risks related to the abuse of psychiatry, using examples from the past, focusing on early 20th century Spain.
ISBN: 9780813595948Publication Date: 2020-01-17
Health Issues in the Latino Community by
Sweeping in scope, Health Issues in the Latino Community identifies and offers an in-depth examination of the most critical health issues that affect Latino's health and health care within the United States. This resource offers a comprehensive approach that informs and promotes the advancement of the practice, program planning, research, and public policy to improve health care of all Latino citizens.
ISBN: 9780787953157Publication Date: 2001-05-07
The South Texas Health Status Review by
This book is a roadmap of the exact health disparities that burden the health of South Texas residents, especially Hispanics, compared to the rest of Texas and nation. This type of knowledge has the potential to fuel and motivate researchers and public health leaders to create and shape interventions to reverse those health disparities.
ISBN: 9783319002323Publication Date: 2013
Taylor and Kelly's Dermatology for Skin of Color 2/e by
BOOK CHAPTER: Impact of Traditional Hispanic American Cultures on Healthcare Practices: This work contains chapters on structure, function, biology, and the myriad of diseases occurring in patients of color as well as cosmetic issues.
ISBN: 9780071805520Publication Date: 2016
- Bates' Visual Guide Communication and Interpersonal SkillsClinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
- Clase and Periódica This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of scholarly journal articles and other publications published in Latin America and the Caribbean countries covering social sciences, humanities, biology, chemistry, and medicine. Cited items are in Spanish, Portuguese, French, and English.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a collection of statistics including demographic data, maps, profile reports, data elements and variables.
For more information on how to use the resource, please visit Social Explorer's
- Wiley Online Library- Latino American StudiesFull-text access for many Wiley Online Library journals covering life, health, and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Archivos Latinoamericanos de Nutrición Journal in Spanish covering topics related to diet, nutrition, and healthy eating in the Latin American population.
- Ethnicity & Disease International journal that exclusively publishes information on the causal and associative relationships in the etiology of common illnesses through the study of ethnic patterns of disease.
- Ethnicity & Health Research exploring race and ethnic public health, medical, epidemiological, sociological, behavioral, psychological, and cultural issues.
- Gaceta Mexicana de Oncología High quality scientific blind peer-reviewed journal of open access that communicates to health professionals the most relevant and up-to-date advances in research and education, in order to offer cutting-edge multidisciplinary care to cancer patients.
- Hispanic Health Care International The official journal of the National Association of Hispanic Nurses. This peer-reviewed journal serves as an interdisciplinary forum for the dissemination of information for clinical practice, education, global health, research, policy, and technology on issues concerning Hispanic and Latino/a populations in the United States and around the world.
- Revista Mexicana de Neurociencia The official scientific journal of the Academia Mexicana de Neurología, A.C. It is a bimonthly publication which belongs to the Federation of Neurological Journals in Spanish.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms.
Hispanic/Latino
((((((("Minority Groups"[Mesh]) OR (minority group*[Title/Abstract])) OR ("Ethnic Groups"[Mesh])) OR (ethnic group*[Title/Abstract] OR ethnicity[Title/Abstract] OR nationality[Title/Abstract] OR nationalities[Title/Abstract])) OR (("Hispanic Americans"[Mesh]) OR "Mexican Americans"[Mesh])) OR (Hispanic American*[Title/Abstract] OR Spanish American*[Title/Abstract] OR Puerto Rican*[Title/Abstract] OR Latino*[Title/Abstract] OR Cuban American*[Title/Abstract] OR Hispanic*[Title/Abstract] OR Latina*[Title/Abstract])) OR (Mexican American*[Title/Abstract] OR Chicana*[Title/Abstract] OR Chicano*[Title/Abstract]))
Current PubMed Hispanic/Latino Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
National/International Organizations
- Association of Latino Professionals for America (ALPFA) This organization's mission is to empower and develop Latino men and women as leaders of character for the nation, in every sector of the global economy. It was the first national Latino professional association in the United States, established in Los Angeles in 1972.
- Chicanos Por La Causa Chicanos Por La Causa was founded in 1969 to confront oppression facing Latinos in Phoenix, Arizona as part of the movement led by Cesar Chavez. Now, they are one of the largest Hispanic nonprofits in the country, promoting stronger and healthier communities throughout the southwestern United States.
- Congressional Hispanic Caucus Institute (CHCI) The mission of this organization is to develop the next generation of Hispanic leaders. Its vision is an educated and civically active Hispanic community that participates at the local, state and federal policy decision-making levels.
- Council for Latino Workplace Equity (CLWE) Under the umbrella of the National Diversity Council, the purpose of the Council for Latino Workplace Equity is to foster workplace equity for Latino talent and seek inclusion and opportunity for Latino leaders to claim their place at the table with certainty and conviction.
- Hispanic Heritage Foundation Award-winning nonprofit that identifies, inspires, prepares and positions Latino leaders in the classroom, community and workforce to meet America’s priorities.
- Hispanic Institute Nonprofit organization that provides an effective education forum for an informed and empowered Hispanic America. The Hispanic Institute manages several ongoing projects, including the study of Hispanic economic contributions, media monitoring, consumer fraud protection, citizenship education, and technology and telecommunication research.
- Hispanic Scholarship Fund Empowers Latino families with the knowledge and resources to successfully complete a higher education, while providing scholarships and support services to as many exceptional Hispanic American students as possible. HSF also seeks to give its Scholars all the tools they need to do well in their course work, graduate, enter a profession, excel, help lead our nation going forward, and mentor the generations to come.
- League of United Latin American Citizens (LULAC) LULAC is the largest and oldest Hispanic organization in the United States. LULAC advances the economic condition, educational attainment, political influence, housing, health and civil rights of Hispanic Americans through community-based programs operating at more than 1,000 LULAC councils nationwide. The organization involves and serves all Hispanic nationality groups.
- NALEO Educational Fund Nation’s leading non-profit, non-partisan organization that facilitates full Latino participation in the American political process, from citizenship to public service.
- National Alliance for Hispanic Health The premier science-based and community-driven organization that focuses on the best health for all. Community-based members provide services to more than 15 million Hispanics throughout the U.S. every year and national organization members provide services to more than 100 million people annually.
- National Hispanic Medical Association (NHMA) Established in 1994 in Washington, DC, the National Hispanic Medical Association is a non-profit association representing the interests of 50,000 licensed Hispanic physicians in the United States. NHMA is dedicated to empowering Hispanic physicians to be leaders who will help eliminate health disparities and improve the health of Hispanics.
- Society for the Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science For more than 37 years, SACNAS has worked to improve and expand opportunities for minorities in scientific industries and academia. Includes graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.
- UnidosUS Since 1968, UnidosUS—formerly known as National Council of La Raza—has remained a trusted, nonpartisan voice for Latinos. They serve the Hispanic community through research, policy analysis, and state and national advocacy efforts, as well as program work in communities nationwide.
- Structural Racism and the Latinx Community AMA Center for Health Equity