Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI)
Native/ Indigenous
Native/ Indigenous is a terms to encompass populations that are native to a specific region, existing before colonists occupied the land. Some other terms may be used in relation: American Indian/Alaska Native, Indigenous Peoples, or Native American. The resources in this guide focus on healthcare, treatment and the wellbeing of those in the Native/Indigenous community as well as increase education. Native people in America face unique health challenges such as traditional practices not being recognized in clinics and health concerns that arise from Historical Trauma Responses.
There are currently three federally recognized tribes in the State of Texas. The nations are the Alabama-Coushatta Tribe of Texas, Kickapoo Traditional Tribe of Texas, and Ysleta del Sur Pueblo. (BIA) It is also important to recognize that the traditional stewards of the land the university occupies are the Kickapoo, Jumanos, Tawakoni, Wichita, and Comanche nations. Please visit the websites of each tribe to learn more about the history and check out the resources below on decolonization.
Resources Related to Native / Indigenous
American Indian health and nursing by
"Written by and for nurses, this is the first text to focus exclusively on American Indian health and nursing. In fact, it is likely the only nursing book to even mention American Indian health as a distinct entity. The text addresses the profound disparities in policy, health care law, and health outcomes that affect American Indians, and describes how these disparities, woven into the cultural, environmental, historical, and geopolitical fabric of American Indian society, are responsible for the marked lack of well-being among American Indians"--Provided by publisher.
ISBN: 0826129854Publication Date: 2016
Behavioral Health Services for American Indians and Alaska Natives by
In response to existing behavioral health disparities,
this work illustrates strategies for facilitating American
Indian and Alaska Native individuals’ access to
and engagement in behavioral health services.
It outlines promising practices for providers to
apply in working with American Indians and Alaska
Natives, and it includes tools and strategies that
will help program administrators facilitate implementation of these practices.
Publication Date: 2018
Coming full circle : spirituality and wellness among native communities in the Pacific Northwest by
Coming Full Circle is an interdisciplinary exploration of the relationships between spirituality and health in several contemporary Coast Salish and Chinook communities in western Washington from 1805 to 2005. Suzanne Crawford O'Brien examines how these communities define what it means to be healthy, and how recent tribal community–based health programs have applied this understanding to their missions and activities. She also explores how contemporary definitions, goals, and activities relating to health and healing are informed by Coast Salish history and also by indigenous spiritual views of the body, which are based on an understanding of the relationship between self, ecology, and community. Coming Full Circle draws on a historical framework in reflecting on contemporary tribal health-care efforts and the ways in which they engage indigenous healing traditions alongside twenty-first-century biomedicine. The book makes a strong case for the current shift toward tribally controlled care, arguing that local, culturally distinct ways of healing and understanding illness must be a part of contemporary Native healthcare. Combining in-depth archival research, extensive ethnographic participant-based field work, and skillful scholarship on theories of religion and embodiment, Crawford O'Brien offers an original and masterful analysis of contemporary Native Americans and their worldviews.
ISBN: 9781461940463Publication Date: 2013
Leveraging Culture to Address Health Inequalities by
Summary of a workshop convened in November 2012 by the Roundtable on the Promotion of Health Equity and the Elimination of Health Disparities of the Institute of Medicine. The workshop brought together more than 100 health care providers, policy makers, program administrators, researchers, and Native advocates to discuss the sizable health inequities affecting Native American, Alaska Native, First Nation, and Pacific Islander populations and the potential role of culture in helping to reduce those inequities.
ISBN: 9780309292566Publication Date: 2014
Multicultural Perspectives in Working with Families by
Features a new intersectional approach to assessment and treatment and interweaves the perspectives of psychologists.Focusing on critical emerging issues in regard to multicultural families, the fourth edition of this popular book reflects fundamental issues surrounding assessment and treatment of families from diverse cultural backgrounds. The most effective treatment methods for working with culturally diverse families across the life cycle are covered in detail. Individual chapters focus on a variety of distinct ethnic groups including African American, Hispanics, Asian-American, Native American, and Arab American, as well as the needs of LGBTQ multicultural families and the role of spirituality. The text underlines the importance of an intersectional approach to working with families that, in addition to culture and ethnicity, also considers socioeconomic class, gender, age, religion, immigration status, and sexual orientation as important factors. Additionally, the text expands its direct-practice view with the addition of four new chapters written by psychologists, plus a new chapter on health issues in multicultural families and access to health services. The text is updated with the latest knowledge and research, along with new and revised case vignettes demonstrating culturally competent practice. New to the Fourth Edition: Provides a new intersectional approach to assessment and treatment Adds the perspectives of psychologists in four completely new chapters Includes a new chapter on DSM5 from a multicultural perspective, plus new chapters on health and access to health services Offers the most up-to-date knowledge and research Provides new and updated case vignettes Reflects changes in the family unit over the last quarter century and how it impacts treatment Addresses distinct sociopolitical issues affecting immigrants and undocumented families Key Features:Focuses on the most important emerging issues of multicultural families Covers multicultural mental health across the lifespan Encompasses the distinct perspectives of different ethnic and racial groups, and those of LGBTQ families Discusses domestic violence and substance abuse in regard to multicultural families Delineates the most effective treatment methods Examines the culturagram as a useful assessment and treatment planning modality Addresses ethical issues including the NASW code of ethics
ISBN: 9780826154149Publication Date: 2020-05-28
Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics by
CHAPTER SECTION: Sudden Infant Death Syndrome Rates Remain Higher Among American Indians, Alaska Natives, and African Americans: Children cannot advocate wholly for themselves. As the professionals whose purpose is to advance the well-being of children, pediatricians must be advocates for the individual child and for all children, irrespective of culture, religion, gender, sexual orientation, race, or ethnicity or of local, state, or national boundaries.
ISBN: 9780323529501Publication Date: 2019
Reproduction on the Reservation by
This pathbreaking book documents the transformation of reproductive practices and politics on Indian reservations from the late nineteenth century to the present, integrating a localized history of childbearing, motherhood, and activism on the Crow Reservation in Montana with an analysis of trends affecting Indigenous women more broadly. As Brianna Theobald illustrates, the federal government and local authorities have long sought to control Indigenous families and women's reproduction, using tactics such as coercive sterilization and removal of Indigenous children into the white foster care system. But Theobald examines women's resistance, showing how they have worked within families, tribal networks, and activist groups to confront these issues. Blending local and intimate family histories with the histories of broader movements such as WARN (Women of All Red Nations), Theobald links the federal government's intrusion into Indigenous women's reproductive and familial decisions to the wider history of eugenics and the reproductive rights movement. She argues convincingly that colonial politics have always been--and remain--reproductive politics. By looking deeply at one tribal nation over more than a century, Theobald offers an especially rich analysis of how Indigenous women experienced pregnancy and motherhood under evolving federal Indian policy. At the heart of this history are the Crow women who displayed creativity and fortitude in struggling for reproductive self-determination.
ISBN: 1469653168Publication Date: 2019-10-21
Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts by
This forward-looking resource offers readers a modern contextual framework for conducting social science research with indigenous peoples. Foundational chapters summarize current UN-based standards for indigenous rights and autonomy, with their implications for research practice. Coverage goes on to detail minimally-invasive data-gathering methods, survey current training and competency issues, and consider the scientist's role in research, particularly as a product of his/her own cultural background. From these guidelines and findings, students and professionals have a robust base for carrying out indigenous research that is valid and reliable as well as respectful and ethical. Among the topics covered: · Cultural theories and cultural dominance. · The legal framework of research in indigenous contexts. · The role of language within indigenous peoples' cultural rights. · Methodology: how to optimally collect data in the field. · Researchers' influence and philosophy of science. · Learning how to prepare research in indigenous contexts. Research Methods in Indigenous Contexts is an important reference benefitting a wide audience, including students and researchers in the social sciences, humanities, and psychology; decision-makers of NGOs and GOs that act with regard to humanitarian aid, for tourism projects, or any other contingency with indigenous contexts; and policymakers interested in the aspects of human activity upon which indigenous cultural concerns are based.
ISBN: 3319727745Publication Date: 2018-02-12
- Bates' Visual Guide Communication and Interpersonal SkillsClinical skills videos featuring head-to-toe and systems-based physical examination techniques.
- Cochrane Library Special Collections Health of Indigenous Peoples: Suicide PreventionThe Cochrane Library maintains a collection of six databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowNote: You will need to create a free account using your UNTHSC email address to access this resource.
Collection of statistics including demographic data, maps, profile reports, data elements and variables.
- Ethnicity & Disease International journal that exclusively publishes information on the causal and associative relationships in the etiology of common illnesses through the study of ethnic patterns of disease.
- Ethnicity & Health Research exploring race and ethnic public health, medical, epidemiological, sociological, behavioral, psychological, and cultural issues.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms.
Native/Indigenous
(((((("Minority Groups"[Mesh]) OR (minority group*[Title/Abstract])) OR ("Ethnic Groups"[Mesh])) OR (ethnic group*[Title/Abstract] OR ethnicity[Title/Abstract] OR nationality[Title/Abstract] OR nationalities[Title/Abstract])) OR (("Indigenous Peoples"[Mesh]) OR "Alaskan Natives"[Mesh])) OR (Indigenous People*[Title/Abstract] OR First Nation People*[Title/Abstract] OR First People[Title/Abstract] OR Native People*[Title/Abstract] OR Alaskan Native*[Title/Abstract]))
Current PubMed Native/Indigenous Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
National/International Organizations
- American Indian College Fund Nation's largest charity that supports Native American students who want to attend college and graduate school. The organization raises money for scholarships, academic resources, and more for students.
- Association of American Indian Physicians The Association of American Indian Physicians maintains its headquarters in Oklahoma City, Oklahoma; however, educational forums, workshops and conferences are hosted throughout the year in different regions of the United States.
- Coalition To Stop Violence Against Native Women This organization was founded by three Native women and aims to "provide support to other Native advocates working in domestic violence, sexual assault, dating violence, stalking and sex trafficking in New Mexico’s tribal communities."
- Cultural Survival An organization that advocates for the rights of Indigenous peoples and "supports Indigenous communities’ self-determination, cultures and political resilience." The non-profit is based in Cambridge, Massachusetts but works on-the-ground with Indigenous people all over the world.
- Indian Health Service - US Health and Human Services This organization, an agency within the Department of Health and Human Services, is responsible for providing federal health services to American Indians and Alaska Natives. The provision of health services to members of federally-recognized tribes grew out of the special government-to-government relationship between the federal government and Indian tribes.
- Indian Law Resource Center Provides legal assistance to Indigenous people and specifically helps them combat racism and oppression. More specifically, it "seeks to overcome the grave problems that threaten Native peoples by advancing the rule of law, by establishing national and international legal standards that preserve their human rights and dignity, and by challenging the governments of the world to accord justice and equality before the law to all indigenous peoples of the Americas."
- Indianz.com Provides news and information from a Native American prospective.
- International Work Group for Indigenous Affairs A global human rights organization dedicated to promoting, protecting, and defending indigenous peoples' rights.
- Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning, (LGBTQ) and Two-Spirit Health (IHS) The Indian Health Service (IHS) works to ensure that Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, Transgender, Questioning and Two-Spirit (LGBTQ-2S) American Indian and Alaska Native (AI/AN) individuals and their families receive equal access to health services in the communities where they live. IHS carries out this work by providing enhanced resources for health issues, developing better information regarding health needs, and working to close the health disparities gap that currently exist for our Native LGBTQ-Two-Spirit people.
- National Congress of American Indians Oldest and largest tribal government organization in the United States. NCAI's mission is to inform the public and the federal government on tribal self-government, treaty rights, and other federal policy issues affecting tribal governments.
- National Council of Urban Indian Health (NCUIH) National organization devoted to the support and development of quality, accessible, and culturally-competent health services for American Indians and Alaska Natives (AI/ANs) living in urban settings.
- National Indian Health Board The National Indian Health Board (NIHB) represents Tribal governments—both those that operate their own health care delivery systems through contracting and compacting, and those receiving health care directly from the Indian Health Service (IHS).
- Native American Rights Fund Provides legal resources and representation to Indigenous people and organizations around the world.
- Society for the Advancement of Chicanos and Native Americans in Science Works to improve and expand opportunities for minorities in scientific industries and academia. Includes graduate students and postdoctoral fellows.
- StrongHearts Native Helpline StrongHearts Native Helpline (1-844-762-8483) is a 24/7 confidential and anonymous culturally-appropriate domestic, dating and sexual violence helpline for Native Americans.
- Tribal Law and Policy Institute Native American owned and operated non-profit corporation organized to design and deliver education, research, training, and technical assistance programs that promote the enhancement of justice in Indian country and the health, well-being, and culture of native peoples.
- Turtle Talk One of the leading law blogs in the country on American Indian law and policy, Turtle Talk is followed by tribal citizens; indigenous law scholars; and tribal, state, and federal leaders for its up-to-the-minute updates and analysis on Indian law and politics.
- United Nation's Department of Economic and Social Affairs Indigenous Peoples - Resources The resources listed are a compilation of all available guidelines, books, studies, reports, articles, training materials and documentation on indigenous peoples from the UN system and relevant entities.
- United Nation's State of the World’s Indigenous Peoples (SOWIP) Promotes awareness of indigenous peoples’ issues within the United Nations system, with States, academia and the broader public.
- We R Native We are a comprehensive health resource for Native youth, by Native youth, providing content and stories about the topics that matter most to them. We strive to promote holistic health and positive growth in our local communities and nation at large.