Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI)
Accessibility
The World Health Organization estimates that 1 billion people, or 15% of the global population, experience disability. Disability will affect everyone at some point, whether it's temporary, due to an injury or illness, or permanent.
Accessibility is the ability to access an entity despite disabilities or limitations. Accessibility can apply to a wide range of scenarios, whether one is considering a physical space (mobility-aid users or individuals who need low-sensory environments), digital information (font, color usage, etc), or other situations. The resources below can help you to understand and accommodate disabilities.
HSC also provides campus-specific resources for accessibility.
Resources Related to Accessibility
Accessibility Denied. Understanding Inaccessibility and Everyday Resistance to Inclusion for Persons with Disabilities by
This book explores the societal resistance to accessibility for persons with disabilities, and tries to set an example of how to study exclusion in a time when numerous policies promise inclusion. With 12 chapters organised in three parts, the book takes a comprehensive approach to accessibility, covering transport and communication, knowledge and education, law and organisation. Topics within a wide cross-disciplinary field are covered, including disability studies, social work, sociology, ethnology, social anthropology, and history. The main example is Sweden, with its implementation of the United Nations Convention on the Rights of Persons with Disabilities within the context of the Nordic welfare state. By identifying and discussing persistent social and cultural conditions as well as recurring situations and interactions that nurture resistance to advancing accessibility, despite various strong laws promoting it, the book's conclusions are widely transferable. It argues for the value of alternating between methods, theoretical perspectives, and datasets to explore how new arenas, resources and technologies cause new accessibility concerns -- and possibilities -- for persons living with impairments. We need to be able to follow actors closely to uncover how they feel, act, and argue, but also to connect to wider discursive and institutional patterns and systems. This book will be of interest to scholars and students of disability studies, social work, sociology, ethnology, social anthropology, political science, and organisation studies.
ISBN: 9781000512700Publication Date: 2021-11-09- Accessibility, inclusion, and action in medical education : lived experiences of learners and physicians with disabilities by "The waters of medical education are inherently turbulent and diffcult to navigate. This is especially true for learners with disabilities,1 who experience unique barriers in the course of their training. Medical educators have sought guidance in their efforts to support these learners as they enter and graduate from medical school. What was once relatively unusual has become much more common in medical education: About 1,500 medical students with disabilities in the United States currently receive accommodations. While there has certainly been growth in the number of students who disclose a disability, the proportion of those students who seek accommodations remains small, at 2.7%.2 The Association of American Medical Colleges (AAMC) and the University of California, San Francisco, School of Medicine (UCSF) sought to understand the lived experiences of learners with disabilities navigating medical education by gathering the perspectives of students, residents, and physicians with disabilities. This report weaves together the major themes shared by these individuals and current research in order to capture the current state of medical education for qualifed learners with disabilities. The intended audience includes medical students, residents, faculty, institutional leaders and administrators, and aspiring applicants and their advisors. The report is designed to help the reader understand the lived experiences of learners with disabilities and to catalyze movement toward practices that ensure that all qualifed learners, regardless of disability, have equal access to medical education and the profession of medicine"Publication Date: 2018
Inclusion, Disability and Culture by
This book examines some theoretical and empirical aspects about complexities of inclusion, disability and culture. It challenges the globalized technical and reductionist approach of inclusion and argues that concepts of disability and inclusion are culturally constructed. Disability and inclusion are concepts which do not define a global agenda, in the sense that one size fits all.
ISBN: 9789462099234Publication Date: 2015-02-03
Nothing about Us Without Us by
James Charlton has produced a ringing indictment of disability oppression, which, he says, is rooted in degradation, dependency, and powerlessness and is experienced in some form by five hundred million persons throughout the world who have physical, sensory, cognitive, or developmental disabilities. Nothing About Us Without Us is the first book in the literature on disability to provide a theoretical overview of disability oppression that shows its similarities to, and differences from, racism, sexism, and colonialism. Charlton's analysis is illuminated by interviews he conducted over a ten-year period with disability rights activists throughout the Third World, Europe, and the United States. Charlton finds an antidote for dependency and powerlessness in the resistance to disability oppression that is emerging worldwide. His interviews contain striking stories of self-reliance and empowerment evoking the new consciousness of disability rights activists. As a latecomer among the world's liberation movements, the disability rights movement will gain visibility and momentum from Charlton's elucidation of its history and its political philosophy of self-determination, which is captured in the title of his book. Nothing About Us Without Us expresses the conviction of people with disabilities that they know what is best for them. Charlton's combination of personal involvement and theoretical awareness assures greater understanding of the disability rights movement.
ISBN: 9780520925441Publication Date: 1998-03-27
The Oxford Handbook of Autism and Co-Occurring Psychiatric Conditions by
Co-occurring psychiatric conditions are extremely common among people who have autism spectrum disorder (ASD). The Oxford Handbook of Autism and Co-Occurring Psychiatric Conditions presents a compilation of the latest research in this area, summarized by internationally renowned experts. Eachchapter presents an overview of the problem or disorder including information on prevalence in ASD and in the general public and a synthesis of the research on etiology, diagnostic best practices, and evidence-based intervention approaches. Case studies bring these concepts to life, and each chapterconcludes with suggestions for future research directions in order to further develop our scientific and clinical understanding of the particular comorbidity. Given the fact that comorbidity is often a chronic and pervasive concern, this Handbook takes a lifespan approach, with each chapter touchingon developmental aspects of the targeted problem, from early childhood through adulthood. The concluding section of the Handbook is comprised of content on clinical considerations and research approaches, including chapters on medications commonly used to treat co-occurring conditions, strategiesfor managing crisis situations in this clinical population, and community partnerships within an implementation science framework.
ISBN: 9780190910761Publication Date: 2020
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. Contains citations covering all fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and preclinical sciences.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
- American rehabilitation Official publication of the Rehabilitation Services Administration.
- Assistive technology International journal publishing research in the multi-disciplinary field of technology for people with disabilities.
- Disability and health journal Scientific, scholarly, and multidisciplinary journal for reporting original contributions that advance knowledge in disability and health.
- Mental and physical disability law reporter Summaries of reported legal developments covering disability discrimination law and civil and criminal mental disability law.
- Sexuality and disability Addresses the psychological and medical aspects of sexuality in relation to rehabilitation.
- Technology and disability Communicates knowledge about the field of assistive technology devices and services, within the context of the lives of end users - persons with disabilities and their family members.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms.
Neurodiversity
neurodiversity[Title/Abstract]
Current PubMed Neurodiversity Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
- AAHD: American Association on Health & Disability Dedicated to ensuring health equity and inclusion for persons with disabilities through policy, research, and dissemination.
- UNTHSC Office of Disability Access The Office of Disability Access at the University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth is committed to assisting students with disabilities and providing academic accommodations to ensure equal access.
- UNTHSC Non-Discrimination The University of North Texas Health Science Center does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, national origin, religion, sex, sexual orientation, gender identity or expression, age, disability, genetic information or veteran status in its application and admission processes, educational programs and activities, university facilities, or employment policies, procedures and processes.
- Web Content Accessibility Guidelines Web Content Accessibility Guidelines (WCAG) 2 is developed through the W3C process in cooperation with individuals and organizations around the world, with a goal of providing a single shared standard for web content accessibility that meets the needs of individuals, organizations, and governments internationally.