Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Diversity, Equity, & Inclusion (DEI)
Women & Gender
Providing the best medical care for all people requires the study of the health of people of all genders and gender identities throughout life. Gender, gender bias, and biology interact with each other and are interacting determinants of well-being and disease. The study of women and gender, in relation to healthcare, allows for recognition of diversity. This then increases awareness and action against the inequalities seen in participation, treatment and bodily autonomy within the healthcare system. Central to this is the understanding that the protection of human rights is fundamental to health.
Resources Related to Women and Gender
Freezing Fertility: Oocyte Cryopreservation and the Gender Politics of Aging (Biopolitics) by
Welcomed as liberation and dismissed as exploitation, egg freezing (oocyte cryopreservation) has rapidly become one of the most widely-discussed and influential new reproductive technologies of this century. In Freezing Fertility, Lucy van de Wiel takes us inside the world of fertility preservation—with its egg freezing parties, contested age limits, proactive anticipations and equity investments—and shows how the popularization of egg freezing has profound consequences for the way in which female fertility and reproductive aging are understood, commercialized and politicized.
ISBN: 9781479868148Publication Date: 2020
Gender in Science and Technology by
What role does gender play in scientific research and the development of technologies? This book provides methodological expertise, research experiences and empirical findings in the dynamic field of Science and Technology Studies.
ISBN: 9783839424346Publication Date: 2014
Kuerer's Breast Surgical Oncology by
This work is specifically dedicated to the newly emerging field of surgical breast oncology.
ISBN: 9780071601764Publication Date: 2010
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender Healthcare by
This important text fills an informational void about the practical health needs of LGBT patients in both the primary care and specialty settings remains, and serves as a guide for LGBT preventive and specialty medicine that can be utilized within undergraduate medical education, residency training, and medical practice.
ISBN: 9783319197517Publication Date: 2016
LGBTQ Cultures by
Drawn from real-world experience and current research, this resource paves the way for healthcare professionals to provide well-informed, culturally sensitive healthcare to lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) patients.
ISBN: 9781496394606Publication Date: 2017
Mosby's Guide to Women's Health by
This essential clinical companion provides quick access to a wealth of information on effectively managing common women's health issues. It offers just the right level of coverage for health professionals, with concise, user-friendly protocols for diagnosing and treating a wide range of conditions. In addition to traditional medical information, this book also explores alternative natural treatment options such as physical therapy, nutrition, herbs, chiropractic, and naturopathic therapies.
ISBN: 9780323062121Publication Date: 2007-01-01
The Palgrave Handbook of Critical Menstrual Studies by
This open access handbook, the first of its kind, is animated by the central question: '"what new lines of inquiry are possible when we center our attention on menstrual health and politics across the life course?" The chapters--diverse in content, form and perspective--establish Critical Menstruation Studies as a potent lens that reveals, complicates and unpacks inequalities across biological, social, cultural and historical dimensions.
ISBN: 9789811506130Publication Date: 2020
Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine by
The announcement that we had decoded the human genome in 2000 ushered in a new and unique era in biomedical research and clinical medicine. This Third Edition of Principles of Gender-Specific Medicine focuses, as in the past two editions, on the essentials of sexual dimorphism in human physiology and pathophysiology, but emphasizes the latest information about molecular biology and genomic science in a variety of disciplines. Thus, this edition is a departure from the previous two; the editor solicited individual manuscripts from innovative scientists in a variety of fields rather than the traditional arrangement of sections devoted to the various subspecialties of medicine edited by section chiefs. Wherever it was available, these authors incorporated the latest information about the impact of the genome and the elements that modify its expression on human physiology and illness. All chapters progress translationally from basic science to the clinical applications of gender-specific therapy and suggest the most important topics for future investigation. This book is essential reading for all biomedical investigators and medical educators involved in gender-specific medicine. It will also be useful for primary care practitioners who need information about the importance of sex and gender in the prevention, diagnosis and treatment of illness. Winner of the 2018 PROSE Award in Clinical Medicine from the Association of American Publishers!
ISBN: 9780128035061Publication Date: 2017-05-15
Transgender and Gender Diverse Health Care: the Fenway Guide by
Provides a roadmap for clinicians to provide culturally responsive care that meets the primary, preventive, and specialty health needs of transgender and gender diverse adult patients.
ISBN: 9781260459937Publication Date: 2021
Women's Health Across the Lifespan by
Covers factors influencing women's health care such as sex and gender differences, menstrual and ovarian conditions, contraceptive methods, pregnancy health care, and cancer in women.
ISBN: 9781585281947Publication Date: 2010
Women and Health by
Women and Health is a comprehensive reference that addresses health issues affecting women of all ages -- from adolescence through maturity. It goes far beyond other books on this topic, which concentrate only on reproductive health, and has a truly international perspective. It covers key issues ranging from osteoporosis to breast cancer and other cancers, domestic violence, sexually transmitted diseases, occupational hazards, eating disorders, heart disease and other chronic illnesses, substance abuse, and societal and behavioral influences on health. In this second edition of Women and Health, chapters thoughtfully explore the current state of women's health and health care, including the influences of sex and gender on the occurrence of a wide variety of diseases and conditions. All chapters have been extensively updated and emphasize the epidemiology of the condition -- the etiology, occurrence, primary and secondary prevention (screening), risk factors, surveillance, changing trends over time, and critical analysis of the diagnostic and treatment options and controversies. Treatment sections in each chapter have been expanded to create a stronger dialogue between epidemiologists and women's health practitioners. Saves researchers and clinicians time in quickly accessing the very latest details on a broad range of women's health issues, as opposed to searching through thousands of journal articles Provides a common language for epidemiologists, public health practitioners, and women's health specialists to discuss the behavioral, cultural, and biological determinants of women's health Researchers and medical specialists will learn how the gender-specific risks and features of one organ system's diseases affect the health of other organ systems For example: Hormone replacement therapy used to treat imbalance within the endocrine system is also being used to prevent and treat cardiovascular disease; Drugs developed for type 2 diabetes are now being used in chemoprevention Orients the non-gerontologist about the importance of considering the entire life cycle of women within research designs and treatment plans Professors teaching courses in women's health will use slides and additional materials to structure lectures/courses; students will use slides as a unique resource to study for exams
ISBN: 9780123849793Publication Date: 2012-12-31
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to nursing and allied health journals, plus healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
- LactMed This link opens in a new windowPeer-reviewed and fully referenced database of drugs to which breastfeeding mothers may be exposed. Includes maternal and infant levels of drug, possible effects on breastfed infants and on lactation, and alternative drugs to consider. Part of the National Library of Medicine's TOXNET system.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. Contains citations covering all fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and preclinical sciences.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a collection of statistics including demographic data, maps, profile reports, data elements and variables.
For more information on how to use the resource, please visit Social Explorer's
- Anti-Trafficking Review First open access, peer reviewed journal dedicated to the issue of human trafficking. It explores trafficking in its broader context and intersections with gender, labour, and migration.
- Frontiers in Global Women’s Health Incorporates research from all disciplines related to the health problems facing women around the world, especially those living in low-middle income countries.
- International Journal of Transgenderism Offers an international, multidisciplinary scholarly forum for publication in the field of transgender health in its broadest sense for academics, practitioners, policy makers, and the general population.
- Korean Journal of Women Health Nursing Primary source of information for meeting the challenges of providing optimal healthcare for women. The journal aims to be a core resource for cutting-edge advancements and clinical applications of new nursing practice, therapeutic protocols for managing health problems in women, and innovative research on gender-based issues that impact treatment and nursing care.
- Psychology of Sexual Orientation and Gender Diversity Scholarly journal dedicated to the dissemination of information in the field of sexual orientation and gender diversity
- Reproductive Health Covers all aspects of human reproduction: adolescent health, female fertility, midwifery.
- Sexual and Reproductive Health Matters Publishes research on sexual and reproductive health, rights, law and policies including family planning, sexual violence, HIV, STIs, and maternal health.
- Women's Health Issues A peer-reviewed, bimonthly, multidisciplinary journal that publishes research and review manuscripts related to women's health care and policy.
- Women's Midlife Health An open access, peer-reviewed journal that considers original and review articles focused on the physical and mental health of women during midlife, including articles on aging, reproductive aging and their inter-relationship.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert.
Women
((((("Humans"[Mesh]) AND ("Female"[Mesh])) OR ("Women"[Mesh:NoExp])) OR ("Women, Working"[Mesh] OR "Physicians, Women"[Mesh] OR "Dentists, Women"[Mesh])) OR (women[Title] OR female[Title] OR woman[Title]) OR ("Gender Identity"[Mesh])) OR ("gender differences"[Title/Abstract] OR "gender equit*"[Title/Abstract] OR "gender inequit*"[Title/Abstract] OR "gender discrepanc*"[Title/Abstract] OR "gender disparit*"[Title/Abstract])
Current PubMed Women Search Results
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
- American Congress of Obstetricians & Gynecologists Offers healthcare provider and consumer information on the health of women at all ages from an organization of US physicians with a specialty in obstetrics and gynecology
- American Society for Reproductive Medicine Healthcare provider and consumer information regarding female and male reproduction from a nonprofit organization of physicians and other healthcare providers.
- Gay and Lesbian Medical Association Nonprofit organization dedicated to broadening quality health services for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals. Provides information on many health-related topics.
- OASH: Office on Women's Health Coordinates women's health efforts across HHS and addresses critical women's health issues by informing and advancing policies, educating health care professionals and consumers, and supporting innovative programs.
- Office of Research on Women's Health Serves as a focal point for women's health research at the NIH and ensures that research conducted and supported by NIH adequately addresses issues regarding women's health.
- Planned Parenthood Federation of America Nonprofit organization offers specific details about family planning and birth control.
- UMass Center for Women and Work The UMass Lowell Center for Women and Work (CWW) is a vibrant community of scholars who are dedicated to the Center’s mission to advance knowledge about the relationship between gender and work through research, enhance understanding of this relationship through education and training, and challenge inequalities, particularly through institutional change.
- UNTHSC Title IX The University of North Texas Health Science Center at Fort Worth is committed to ensuring an educational and employment environment that is free of discrimination and harassment on the basis of sex.