Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Data & Statistics
Questions? Ask Us!
AskALibrarian@unthsc.edu
817-735-2465
Statistics by Geographic Region
The statistical resources in this section are cultivated by geographic region. Browse the table for websites by location or use the highly recommended, generalized geographic resources below to help you get started with your search!
- CDC WonderWide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER) provides a single point of access to the vast range of data offered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It includes reports and quantitative data on chronic diseases, health practice and prevention, communicable diseases, injuries, occupational health, environmental health, and reference data.
- Census DataThe Census Data site provides access to United States population, housing, economic, and geographical data.
- Global Health Data ExchangeThe Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a catalog of census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial health data. This catalog helps locate data by linking to data providers, explaining how to acquire the data, and providing data to download.
Websites:
- CDC State Health DepartmentsA gateway for health department resources. Link to information at the state, territory, city, county, and tribal level.
- City Health DashboardFind statistics like life expectancy, park access, and children in poverty at a city level. Includes data on all cities over 50,000 people and a growing set of smaller cities. Created by NYU Grossman School of Medicine and the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation.
- County Health RankingsThis collection of 50 reports – one per state – helps community leaders see that where we live, learn, work, and play influences how healthy we are and how long we live. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation is collaborating with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute to develop these Rankings for each state’s counties.
- Healthy North TexasHealthy North Texas is a web-based source of community health and population data from the DFWHC Foundation.
- National Neighborhood Data Archive (NaNDA)The National Neighborhood Data Archive (NaNDA) is a data archive that measures the physical, economic, demographic, and social environment at multiple levels of spatial scale (census tract, ZIP code tabulation area, county). Each dataset covers all or most of the entire nation (both rural and urban), with coverage dating back to 2000.
- PLACES: Local Data for Better HealthThis website is a collaboration between the CDC, Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, and the CDC Foundation. The goal is to provide health data, regardless of population size, and includes county, place, census tract, an interactive map, and regional comparisons.
- Tarrant County Public HealthThis site contains statistics on a variety of chronic diseases for the Tarrant County area.
Websites:
- CDC State Health DepartmentsA gateway for health department resources. Link to information at the state, territory, city, county, and tribal level.
- Charting Health Information for TexasA comprehensive collection of links to publicly available, geographically discrete health data for the state of Texas from reliable and authoritative providers of information.
- Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUPnet)Provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpaitent and emergency department utilization. Can be accessed by national or state levels.
- Kaiser Family Foundation State Health FactsData on 800 indicators at the state level including demographics, health, and health policy, including health coverage, access, financing and legislation. State comparison health data is also available.
- Texas Department of State Health Services - Texas Health DataFind Texas public data and statistics on various topics like birth, disease, drugs, environmental health, the health care workforce, hospitals, injuries, maternal and child health, and mental health.
- USDA State Fact SheetsState fact sheets provide information on population, employment, income, farm characteristics, farm financial indicators, and top commodities, exports, and counties for each state in the United States.
Websites:
- Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality - Data and AnalyticsThe AHCRQ data and analytics page contains links to national health statistics including data tools, Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS), Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUP), infographics, visualizations, and more. AHRQ is a division of the U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.
- America's Health RankingsProduced by the United Health Foundation, "America's Health Rankings presents a yearly 'top ten' list of healthiest, and least healthiest, states based on health status indicators, such as: access to primary care, high school degree attainment, smoking, activity level, etc.
- CDC National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)NCHS is the nation’s principal health statistics agency, providing data to identify and address health issues. NCHS compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the U.S. population.
- CDC WonderWide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER) provides a single point of access to the vast range of data offered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It includes reports and quantitative data on chronic diseases, health practice and prevention, communicable diseases, injuries, occupational health, environmental health, and reference data.
- Healthcare Cost and Utilization Project (HCUPnet)Provides access to health statistics and information on hospital inpaitent and emergency department utilization. Can be accessed by national or state levels.
- Health, United States - Data FinderThe National Center for Health Statistics trend tables and charts for the Health, United States publication. The data finder can be filtered by edition year, subject, population subgroup.
Websites:
- DHS Program Demographic and Health SurveysFind data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition from more than 400 surveys in 90 countries. Explore by country, create custom tables, or download datasets on topics like childhood mortality, family planning, gender, malaria, HIV, tuberculosis, youth, unmet needs, education anemia, and alcohol and tobacco.
- Global Health Data ExchangeThe Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a catalog of census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial health data. This catalog helps locate data by linking to data providers, explaining how to acquire the data, and providing data to download.
- Our World in DataFind world data covering topics like life expectancy, energy and the environment, poverty, education, innovation, wellbeing, violence, human rights, and health data.
- PAHO Core Indicators Portal - Region of the AmericasAn open data interactive portal with health-related indicators covering the Americas. PLISA is a health information platform created by the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) and the World Health Organization (WHO).
- World Health Organization Global Health Observatory (GHO)The most recent statistics from the World Health Organization's 192 member states. Topics include core health indicators, mortality and health status, disease statistics, health systems, risk factors and health service coverages, and inequities in health.
- World Health Organization Global StatisticsThe WHO Global Statistics is a data website that collects, stores, and displays information on diseases worldwide.