Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Data & Statistics
Questions? Ask Us!
AskALibrarian@unthsc.edu
817-735-2465
Statistics by Health Topic
The statistical resources in this section are organized by public health topic.
Use the highly recommended resources below for more generalized health statistics to help you get started with your search!
You can also browse the tabs on the left for subject-level searching within the library's catalog and discover other data covering:
Statistics Notice
Please note that there are not always data for rare diseases or conditions.
Highly Recommended Resources by Health Topic
- CDC DataData published by CDC public health programs including interactive surveillance tools.
- CDC FastStatsThe FastStats site provides quick access to statistics on topics of public health importance and is organized alphabetically. Links are provided to publications that include the statistics presented, to sources of more data, and to related web pages.
- CDC National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)NCHS is the nation’s principal health statistics agency, providing data to identify and address health issues. NCHS compiles statistical information to guide actions and policies to improve the health of the U.S. population.
- CDC WonderWide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER) provides a single point of access to the vast range of data offered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It includes reports and quantitative data on chronic diseases, health practice and prevention, communicable diseases, injuries, occupational health, environmental health, and reference data.
- Global Health Data ExchangeThe Global Health Data Exchange (GHDx) is a catalog of census data, surveys, registries, indicators and estimates, administrative health data, and financial health data. This catalog helps locate data by linking to data providers, explaining how to acquire the data, and providing data to download.
- Health, United States - Data FinderThe National Center for Health Statistics trend tables and charts for the Health, United States publication. The data finder can be filtered by edition year, subject, population subgroup.
- HealthyPeople.govPublic health priorities across the United States that provide documented data from the last 4 decades. The 2020 dataset can be searched by topic or data source and is no longer updated. The 2030 initiative and data collection is currently underway.
- Our World in DataFind world data covering topics like life expectancy, energy and the environment, poverty, education, innovation, wellbeing, violence, human rights, and health data.
- PAHO Core Indicators Portal - Region of the AmericasAn open data interactive portal with health-related indicators covering the Americas. PLISA is a health information platform created by the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO) and the World Health Organization (WHO).
- PAHO ENLACE Data Portal on Noncommunicable Diseases, Mental Health, and External CausesThe Pan American Health Organization's ENLACE portal provides visual summaries; key data overviews; burden of diseases, injuries, and risk factors; and monitoring of public policies, strategies, and plans.
- World Health Organization Global Health Observatory (GHO)The most recent statistics from the World Health Organization's 192 member states. Topics include core health indicators, mortality and health status, disease statistics, health systems, risk factors and health service coverages, and inequities in health.
UNTHSC Statistics Databases
- PolicyMap This link opens in a new windowPolicyMap is a U.S. national data and mapping tool that combines a curated, comprehensive geographic data library with simple, robust mapping and analytics tools. University faculty, researchers, and students use it to create compelling maps of up to five layers, export trend charts with key benchmarks, download data for use in other tools, generate on-the-fly reports, and upload your own data to view it with theirs.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a collection of statistics including demographic data, maps, profile reports, data elements and variables.
For more information on how to use the resource, please visit Social Explorer's - Statista This link opens in a new windowCollection of statistical data including reports, facts and market data.
