Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Entrepreneurial Research: Target Market Research
Web Resources: Statistics
- Advertising Research FoundationLinks to resources on consumer trends and statistics.
- Census BureauSource of quality data about the nation's people and economy.
- CIA.GOVResource for information about world consumer behavior.
- ClickZ: Social media demographics for marketersStatistics and demographics for interactive marketing.
- Pew Hispanic CenterDemographic and economic profiles of the 15 largest Hispanic origin groups.
- Pew Social and Demographic TrendsBehaviors and attitudes of Americans in key realms of their lives, including family, community, health, finance, work and leisure.
Statistics & Demographics
- American FactFinder This link opens in a new windowFind popular facts (population, income, etc.) and frequently requested data about your community.
- Social Explorer This link opens in a new windowThis database provides a collection of statistics including demographic data, maps, profile reports, data elements and variables.
For more information on how to use the resource, please visit Social Explorer's - Statista This link opens in a new windowCollection of statistical data including reports, facts and market data.
Consumer Behavior Articles
- BCC Research This link opens in a new windowObjective, unbiased measurement and assessment of market opportunities with detailed market research reports.
- PsycINFO This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed literature covering behavioral, social, psychological, and health sciences. Produced by the American Psychological Association.
Web Resources: Demographics
- American Time Use SurveyProvides data on the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
- Consumer Expenditure SurveyConsists of two surveys, the quarterly Interview Survey and the Diary Survey, that provide information on the buying habits of American consumers.
- State and County Quick Facts - U.S. Census BureauQuick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography
- Statistical Abstract of the United StatesStatistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the U.S. Demographics on birth rates, death rates, marriages, divorces, and education.
Search Tips
Think of synonyms for your consumer group(s). For example, your search for millennials might look like this:
millennials OR "gen y" OR student* OR "helicopter generation"
Additional Resources
- Global Health (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Global Health provides access to the CABI Global Health database through the EBSCOhost platform. While it contains the same core content as CABI’s version, it integrates EBSCOhost’s advanced search tools, user-friendly interface, and features like cross-database searching, citation tools, and personalized folders. Best suited for users already familiar with EBSCOhost or needing enhanced research functionality.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
For more information on using Scopus AI, you can watch a pre-recorded webinar or check out Elsevier's LibGuide