Research Data Management

The Copyright Crash Course was developed by UT Libraries to help faculty members. This free course provides information on copyright basics, including ownership rights, managing, negotiations with publishers, and using existing works.

This article discusses frequently asked questions about creative commons licenses in regards to databases and data.

This quick guide provides examples for citing data sets in multiple citation styles.

Resource for higher education that contains advice on research data storage, management, protection, and sharing. The website also contains free online tools and training for researchers.

Tool used by UNT to help researchers create a Data Management Plan (DMP). You can also find funding requirements and view sample public DMP plans to help you begin.

FAIRsharing is a searchable website of three registries: databases, standards, and data policies. The database registry includes databases and repositories, which use standard formats or guidelines when structuring data. The standards show what will be needed to prepare datasets and the policies registry links to funder, journal, or an organization's data policies.

Take this free online training course. Created for anybody who manages digital data in their research.

This website includes resources and information on policy guidelines for federal funding. Learn more about the 2023 policy, discover data repositories, and find data management best practices.

A free tool created by the National Library of Medicine to help researchers produce HIPAA compliant deidentified health information. The NLM highly suggests having a data manager to evaluate the datasets once the NLM-Scrubber has been used.

This toolkit is a collection of information curated by the National Network of Libraries of Medicine. Resources include information about the DMS Policy; plan checklists, templates, and examples; repository lists and de-identification tools; cost allowances and forecasting; courses; and glossaries.

Learn more about the a single IRB framework for North Texas researchers, which was made possible by a collaboration between UNTHSC and John Peter Smith Health Network.

A registry of data repositories from different academic disciplines. Search the registry for a repository to store and access your research data.

This is a community resource for tracking, comparing, and understanding U.S. federal funder article sharing policies. Examples are the Department of Defense, National Institutes of Health, and the Department of Veterans Affairs.