My Bibliography is a tool available in My NCBI that enables you to add your citations to create a collection of your papers. Once an NIH-funded investigator links their eRA Commons account to their My NCBI account, their My Bibliography interface provides these additional capabilities for managing NIH Public Access Policy compliance:
These compliance management capabilities are only available to eRA Commons users who have active grants in their portfolios. The eRA Commons linked account icon (
linked account) verifies that an individual's eRA Commons account has been linked to their My NCBI account.
Note: NIH requires investigators to use My NCBI to enter publications onto progress reports, new grant applications, grant renewals, etc.
To see whether your publications are compliant or not, go to My Bibliography and click the link “Manage My Bibliography.”
On the resulting screen, each citation is marked with visual clues that indicate the compliance status of the peer-reviewed articles.
Journal articles that are compliant with the NIH Public Access Policy are marked with a green dot and have the PubMed Central citation ID (PMCID) number listed. In the example below, two NIH award IDs are also associated with the citation.
Articles newly submitted to the NIH Manuscript Submission system are considered in process and are marked with a yellow dot. Note that the NIHMS ID number is listed. In the example below, there is no association with an NIH award. Click the link “Add award” to add an award to this citation.
A red dot indicates that the article is non-compliant. The compliance process can be started by clicking on the red dot or “Citation not in NIHMS or PMC.” NIH funding information (award ID) can be added to this citation by clicking “Add or delete award.”
A question mark indicates that compliance with the NIH Public Access Policy cannot be determined without additional information. Click "Edit Status" to enter supporting information for the citation.
Articles that were accepted for publication before April 7, 2008, are not covered by the NIH Public Access Policy. These citations are marked as N/A (not applicable). This status is also automatically applied to citation types that are not journal articles, e.g., book chapters, patents, presentations).
Activate the pop-up wizard by clicking on:
The wizard helps users to begin a manuscript submission, link to a previously-submitted manuscript, or determine if their citation is exempt from the policy.
Assign Awards is a My Bibliography feature that is used to associate or disassociate grants to citations. It consists of three tabs: NIH Awards, HRA Awards (Health Research Alliance) and Search/Add other Awards.
To associate multiple citations with awards at once, select the citations you wish to associate to awards and click the 
button. Choose the pertinent award(s) id (s) from the list presented to you under “My awards” and click “Save.”
To associate individual citations to awards, click the “Add award” link and select the pertinent award(s) id (s) from the list presented to you, and click “Save & Close.”
The “My awards” section (see Assign Awards window above) provides the list of awards associated with your eRA Commons profile. The “Other awards” section displays those awards that are not associated with your eRA Commons profile, but have been linked to citations in your My Bibliography collection.
To add or delete award associations from either list to your citations, check or uncheck the checkbox next to an award and click the “Save” button.
In some cases, it is not possible to deselect awards through the Assign Awards window. For example, if a grant association was created in the NIH Manuscript Submission (NIHMS) system or if a grant was linked to one of your citations by the grant owner, in both cases the award checkboxes will be disabled.
Contact the eRA Commons Help Desk or the NIHMS Help Desk for assistance in removing disabled award associations for your publications.
Investigators may wish to have a staff member act as a delegate to assist in managing their publications in My Bibliography, in support of NIH Public Access Policy compliance. Review the "Set up My NCBI" section of this guide for details on creating a Delegate and accepting a Delegate Assignment.
The information on this page was taken from:
My NCBI Help [Internet]. Bethesda (MD): National Center for Biotechnology Information (US); 2005-. My Bibliography. 2010 Dec 13 [Updated 2013 Jul 12]. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK53595/
