Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Scientific Writing & Styles
Questions? Ask Us!
AskALibrarian@unthsc.edu
817-735-2465
Resources
Access the links below for location, call number, and availability information in the library catalog.
Writing Guides:
How to Do Your Research Project : A Guide for Students in Medicine and the Health Sciences by ISBN: 9780470658208Publication Date: 2013Full-text access available from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
How to Write and Publish a Scientific Paper by Edition / Call Number: 5thISBN: 9781573561648Publication Date: 1998-07-23Full-text access available from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Scientific Writing in a Second Language by ISBN: 9781602353794Publication Date: 2012Full-text access available from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Write It! : A Guide for Research by ISBN: 9781563086892Publication Date: 1999Full-text access available from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Literature Reviews:
- Doing Your Literature Review by ISBN: 9781848601536Publication Date: 2011Print copy available at service desk.
Health Sciences Literature Review Made Easy: The Matrix Method by Edition / Call Number: 3rd ed.ISBN: 9780763771867Publication Date: 2011Print copy available at service desk.
Users' Guides to the Medical Literature by Edition / Call Number: 2ndISBN: 9780071590389Publication Date: 2008Print copy available on reserve.
Websites
- APA Style FAQsFrom the publishers of the APA Style Manual to help clarify frequent areas of confusion.
- Chicago Manual of StyleA manual with state-of-the-art recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices in the digital age. Sixteenth edition published by the University of Chicago Press.
- CiteFastThis site generates the citation for you using your preferred style guide.
- Citing MedicineThe NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers, provides assistance to authors in compiling lists of references for their publications, to editors in revising such lists, to publishers in setting reference standards for their authors and editors, and to librarians and others in formatting bibliographic citations.
- Easy BibFormats in APA, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago styles.
- GrammarlyGrammarly is an automated proofreader and your personal grammar coach. Check your writing for grammar, punctuation, style and much more.
- Son of Citation MachineCitation machine helps students and professional researchers to properly credit the information that they use. Formats in APA, MLA, Turabian, and Chicago styles.
- Turabian Quick GuideNotes on tips on citing internet and book resources using the Turabian citation style.