Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Pharmacy Resources
Librarian
Search HSC Library Databases
Use HSC databases for your literature searches to:
- find journal articles and data not otherwise available, accessible or discoverable through a Google search.
- read the more...descriptions that cover content, access information and any special steps required for use.
- open databases via the proxy link that connects search results to UT Libraries journal subscriptions.
- see the full range of options -- online, print, interlibrary loan -- for search results.
See all the libraries' databases on or related to pharmacy.
Databases
- Embase This link opens in a new windowInternational biomedical and pharmacological database that indexes journals and conference abstracts. Also contains full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. Contains citations covering all fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and preclinical sciences.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowScientific citation index of leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to key medical reference texts covering anesthesiology, behavioral medicine, cardiology, and surgery, plus drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, self-assessments, and health news.
- AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to key pharmacy texts, plus monographs on drugs and supplements, case studies and care plans, molecular-level animations, functional calculators, patient handouts, and self-assessments.
- ClinicalTrials.gov This link opens in a new windowInformation about thousands of federally and privately supported clinical research trials involving human volunteers with data on trial purpose, participation guidelines, study locations, and contact information. Developed by the National Institutes of Health (NIH).
- Facts & Comparisons eAnswers This link opens in a new windowKey drug and clinical information tool for pharmacists and other health care professionals for comparing drugs, identifying potential drugs by disease/symptom, and screening for drug interactions.
- Natural Medicines This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine, including diets and dietary supplements, functional foods, exercises, and complementary practices. Includes tools for checking interactions, nutrient depletions, supplement effectiveness, and adverse effects.
- PharmacyLibrary This link opens in a new windowFull-text content from APhA's authoritative textbooks, an interactive NAPLEX review, case studies, article abstracts from the Journal of the American Pharmacists Association, and a variety of news sources.
