The titles below are available as e-books from the library. Note: This is not the full list of required textbooks and is subject to change.
Access the links below to connect to full-text from the library catalog.
Nursing Theorists and Their Work
by
**Selected for Doody's Core Titles® 2024 with "Essential Purchase" designation in Theory** Find the thinking of 39 leading nursing theorists in one comprehensive text! Nursing Theorists and Their Work, 10th Edition provides a clear, in-depth look at nursing theories of historical and international significance. Each chapter presents a key nursing theory or philosophy, showing how systematic theoretical evidence can enhance decision making, professionalism, and quality of care. Lead author Martha Raile Alligood is known nationally and internationally for her expertise in nursing theory. A classic in the field of nursing theory, this text uses objective critiques, case studies, and critical thinking activities to bridge the gap between nursing theory and application. Scholars specializing in the work of a specific nursing theorist write each theorist chapter, often having worked closely with the theorists, to provide the most accurate and complete information. Case studies at the end of each theorist chapter put the theory into a larger perspective, demonstrating how it can be applied to practice. Critical thinking activities at the end of each theorist chapter help you understand the theory presented and apply it to personal and hypothetical situations. Diagrams and graphics help you to visualize and better understand abstract concepts and theories. History of nursing theory development includes its significance to the discipline and practice of the nursing profession. Brief summary sections in theorist chapters enhance comprehension and make it easier to review for tests. Major Concepts & Definitions box in each theorist chapter outlines a theory's most significant ideas and clarifies vocabulary. Points for Further Study section at the end of each chapter indicates sources of additional information. References at the end of theorist chapters list the author's primary and secondary sources of information. NEW theorists, chapter authors, and case studies provide research and expertise from countries across the world. NEW references and bibliographies demonstrate the ever-increasing use of nursing theory globally.
Evidence-based leadership, innovation, and entrepreneurship in nursing and healthcare : a practical guide to success
by
Evidence from numerous studies supports that leadership and innovation are critical factors for organizational success and improved outcomes. Further, no change takes place and sustains without strong leadership. Although the United States spends more money on healthcare than any other country in the Western world, our health outcomes are poor. For example, the United States is the worst such country in which to give birth. Sick and crisis care continue to be the predominant paradigm; this needs to shift to well care as 80% of chronic conditions can be prevented with healthy lifestyle behaviors. Following the COVID-19 pandemic, we also have a mental health epidemic with over 50% of clinicians suffering from burnout, which affects the quality and safety of care. Solutions, including employing strong leaders and innovators, are urgently needed
Policy and Politics in Nursing and Health Care
by
Learn how to influence policy and become a leader in today's changing health care environment. Featuring analysis of cutting-edge healthcare issues and first-person insights, Policy & Politics in Nursing and Health Care, 8th Edition continues to be the leading text on nursing action and activism. Approximately 150 expert contributors present a wide range of topics in policies and politics, providing a more complete background than can be found in any other policy textbook on the market. This expanded 8th edition helps you develop a global understanding of nursing leadership and political activism, as well as the complex business and financial issues that drive many actions in the health system. Discussions include the latest updates on conflict management, health economics, lobbying, the use of media, and working with communities for change. With these innovative insights and strategies, you will be prepared to play a leadership role in the four spheres in which nurses are politically active: the workplace, government, professional organizations, and the community. Comprehensive coverage of healthcare policies and politics provides a broader understanding of nursing leadership and political activism, as well as complex business and financial issues. Key Points at the end of chapters helps you review important, need-to-know lesson content. Taking Action essays include personal accounts of how nurses have participated in politics and what they have accomplished. Expert authors make up a virtual Nursing Who's Who in healthcare policy, sharing information and personal perspectives gained in the crafting of healthcare policy. NEW! The latest information and perspectives are provided by nursing leaders who influenced health care reform, including the Affordable Care Act. NEW! Added information on medical marijuana presents both sides of this ongoing debate. NEW! More information on health care policy and the aging population covers the most up-do-date information on this growing population. NEW! Expanded information on the Globalization of Nursing explores international policies and procedures related to nursing around the world. NEW! Expanded focus on media strategies details proper etiquette when speaking with the press. NEW! Expanded coverage of primary care models and issues throughout text. NEW! APRN and additional Taking Action chapters reflect the most recent industry changes. NEW! Perspectives on issues and challenges in the government sphere showcase recent strategies and complications.
Advanced physiology and pathophysiology : essentials for clinical practice
by
This advanced physiology and pathophysiology text is designed to address the specific learning needs of future nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other advanced healthcare providers caring for patients across the lifespan. Focusing on practical applications of physiology, it facilitates in-depth understanding of important pathophysiological concepts as they relate to major disorders commonly seen in clinical practice and includes comprehensive pediatric and geriatric considerations. This knowledge is crucial to providing the foundation required to be an informed and confident clinical decision maker.
Applied pathophysiology for the advanced practice nurse
by
Applied Pathophysiology for the Advanced Practice Nurse is a comprehensive resource which serves as a bridge between clinical experience and the role of an APN. A comprehensive and concise text, it helps students navigate the data and presentation of symptoms that must be considered when making a diagnosis and recommendation for treatment
McCance and Huether's Pathophysiology
by
Learn the what, how, and why of pathophysiology! With easy-to-read, in-depth descriptions of disease, disease etiology, and disease processes, McCance and Huether's Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children, 9th Edition helps you understand the most important and most complex pathophysiology concepts. This updated text includes more than 1,300 full-color illustrations and photographs to make it easier to identify normal anatomy and physiology, as well as alterations of function. It's the most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text available! Unparalleled coverage of pathophysiology content makes this the most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text on the market. Consistent presentation of diseases includes pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment. Over 1,300 full-color illustrations and photographs depict the clinical manifestations of disease and disease processes ? more than in any other pathophysiology text. Algorithms and flowcharts of diseases and disorders make it easy for you to follow the sequential progression of disease processes. Lifespan content includes ten separate pediatric chapters and special sections with aging and pediatrics content. Coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics further explores genetic disease traits. Obesity and Nutritional Disorders chapter thoroughly covers these growing global concerns. Chapter summary reviews provide concise synopses of the main points of each chapter. More than 30 3D animations on the companion Evolve website bring difficult concepts to life for a new perspective on disease processes. NEW! More than 50 new or revised illustrations visually reinforce pathophysiology concepts. NEW! Emerging Science boxes highlight the most current research and clinical developments.
Mosby's drug guide for nursing students
by
Find the information you need to administer drugs safely, accurately, and professionally. Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 15th Edition with 2024 Update provides concise profiles of more than 4,000 generic and trade name drugs, including the drugs most recently approved by the FDA. Each drug monograph includes clear guidelines to dosing, administration, and the nursing process, so you’ll always be sure that you’re practicing medication safety. What sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, IV drugs, and the similarities and differences in common classes of drugs. From well-known pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this drug guide has been trusted by nursing students for more than 25 years.
Clinical Practice Guidelines – 4th Edition
by
Create a blueprint for excellence by establishing a comprehensive foundation for gold-standard palliative care, including evidence-based processes and practices for providing safe and reliable high-quality care for all people living with serious illness, regardless of their diagnosis, prognosis, age or where they live or receive care.
Clinical Simulations in Nursing Education
by
Awarded second place in the 2023 AJN Book of the Year Awards in the Adult Primary Care category and third place in the Nursing Education/Professional Development category! In today's quickly changing healthcare environment, simulation has become an indispensable strategy for preparing nursing students to deliver optimal patient care. Clinical Simulations in Nursing Education: Advanced Concepts, Trends, and Opportunities, Second Edition, takes the use of simulations to the next level, exploring innovative teaching/learning methods, new clinical models, and up-to-date best practices for providing high-quality education. From the evolution of clinical simulations to the use of more virtual simulations, incorporation of important constructs such as the social determinants of health, and the use of simulations in nursing education and competency-based testing, this engaging resource continues to provide intermediate and advanced simulation users and advocates with critical considerations for advancing simulation in nursing education. The comprehensive updated second edition focuses on the latest trends and concepts in simulation pedagogy to help nurse educators confidently prepare for their role in developing, planning, implementing, evaluating, and conducting research for effective simulation programs. In today's quickly changing healthcare environment, simulation has become an indispensable strategy for preparing nursing students to deliver optimal patient care. Clinical Simulations in Nursing Education: Advanced Concepts, Trends, and Opportunities, Second Edition, takes the use of simulations to the next level, exploring innovative teaching/learning methods, new clinical models, and up-to-date best practices for providing high-quality education. From the evolution of clinical simulations to the use of more virtual simulations, incorporation of important constructs such as the social determinants of health, and the use of simulations in nursing education and competency-based testing, this engaging resource continues to provide intermediate and advanced simulation users and advocates with critical considerations for advancing simulation in nursing education. The comprehensive updated second edition focuses on the latest trends and concepts in simulation pedagogy to help nurse educators confidently prepare for their role in developing, planning, implementing, evaluating, and conducting research for effective simulation programs. "Throughout the years, Pam Jeffries, who brought us the first edition of this outstanding volume, has been a constant in simulation leadership and research. Now years later, this second edition takes us to an even deeper level, including chapters about diversity and cultural humility, debriefing for clinical judgment and competence, curricular integration, and advancing clinical judgment through simulation. ... If you want to maximize student learning through simulation and cutting-edge technology, this book is for you." -Kathie Lasater, EdD, RN, FAAN, ANEF Professor Emerita Oregon Health and Science University Portland, Oregon
Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements
by
The Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (The Code) was developed as a guide for carrying out nursing responsibilities in a manner consistent with quality in nursing care and the ethical obligations of the profession. In an effort to provide easy access to The Code, we are providing "view only" access, not only for ANA members, but for all nurses and the public.
The concise APA handbook
by
Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand.
Defining Excellence in Simulation Programs
by
5-Star Review from Doody''s Review Service. Raise your simulation programs to new heights with the fully updated Defining Excellence in Simulation Programs, 2nd edition. An official publication of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare, this fully illustrated guide speaks to the needs of all healthcare professionals using simulation for education, assessment, and research. Offering best practices for a wide variety of programs, it addresses all areas of program management, from staffing, funding, and equipment, to education models. Whether you are new to running a simulation program, developing a program, or studying simulation, this is your key to creating cost-effective, research-based programs. Improve your simulation program with this definitive guide. This edition offers: NEW content on International Nursing Association for Clinical Simulation (INACSL) and Association of Standardized Patient Educators (ASPE) standards of practice 17 new chapters, with content reorganized to better align with certification exam blueprints A fully illustrated, comprehensive framework for all operational aspects of simulation programs Sections that address: Standards of Practice - SSH, INACSL, and ASPE standards, technology standards, ethics, and more Simulation Modalities - History of modern-day mannequins; mannequin terminology, selection, and usage; and standardized patient/participant Simulation Methods - In situ, mobile, hybrid, and tabletop simulation; and the continuum of care Management - Creating the infrastructure for a successful program, business needs and assets management, policies and procedures, and strategic plans Funding - Sources of revenue, program budgets, business plans, and fee structures Environmental Design - Building a simulation center, technical infrastructure, and more Educational and Content Development - Educator training and simulation methodology courses, assessing learning needs, shared theories, and more Delivery of Simulation - Assessment in healthcare simulation, preparing the learner, management of the scenarios, and more Research - Healthcare simulation research, institutional review board, and more Resources - Terms of references, examples of studies, case and scenario development templates, and more Chapter features include: Expert''s Corner - Commentary on essential areas of training, research, and program development by simulation experts and founders Consider This - Practical how-to''s on critical, related topics Example and Case Study Boxes - Added examples that support chapter content Terms of Reference - Defines simulation terms and concepts About the Clinical Editors Juli C. Maxworthy, DNP, MSN, MBA, RN, CNL, CPHQ, CPPS, CHSE, FNAP, FSSH, is an Associate Professor at the University of San Francisco, School of Nursing and Health Professions, and President (2021) of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare. Chad A. Epps, MD, FSSH, was the Executive Director, Center for Healthcare Improvement and Patient Simulation (CHIPS) and Professor at the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, and Past President of The Society for Simulation in Healthcare. Yasuharu Okuda, MD, FACEP, FSSH, is Executive Director of the Center for Advanced Medical Learning and Simulation, CEO of USF Health Professions Conferencing Corporation, Associate Vice President, USF Health Office of Interprofessional Education and Practice, Professor of Medicine at the Morsani College of Medicine at the University of South Florida Health in Tampa, and President (2022) of the Society for Simulation in Healthcare. Mary Elizabeth (Beth) Mancini, RN, Ph.D., NE-BC, FAHA, ANEF, FAAN, is Professor Emeritus at the College of Nursing, the University of Texas at Arlington. She is also a Past President of The Society for Simulation in Healthcare. Janice C. Palaganas, Ph.D., APRN, ANEF, FNAP, FAAN, FSSH, is a Professor at MGH Institute of Health Professions, Lecturer at Harvard Medical School, Chief Executive Officer of the Institute for Interprofessional Innovations, and Principal Faculty at the Center for Medical Simulation at Massachusetts General Hospital, and in the Department of Anesthesia, Critical Care & Pain Medicine at Harvard Medical School in Boston.
Digital Health Care
by
Digital Health Care: Perspectives, Applications, and Cases explores the trends, perspectives, and cases of Digital Healthcare and Informatics (DHI) that are transforming healthcare across the globe.Organized in 5 major connecting parts, this well-conceived text begins by laying out foundational DHI themes before focusing in on key DHI core technologies, developments, methods and challenges -- from big data analytics & artificial intelligence to security and privacy issues, clinical decision support systems, consumer health informatics, and more. It then explores DHI emerging technologies (e.g. sensors and wearable electronics), and concludes with short case studies and critical case questions designed to reinforce conceptual understanding.Written for undergraduates health professionals, this accessible text offers a multidisciplinary perspective that is suitable for use in variety of healthcare disciplines - from allied health and nursing to health administration, public health, and health informatics.Key Features:- Each chapter follows a consistent structure that comprehensively covers a specific DHI topic(s) and related key technological components along with workplace practices from a multidisciplinary perspective.- Real world cases studies help students understand key and illustrate how they can been applied in real-world settings.- Clinical innovations and techniques for evaluating clinical outcomes, such as improved care, performance improvement, and cost reduction in clinical settings, are explored and emphasized throughout the text. - Technology and issues that a transforming the health care industry are explored including standardization, artificial intelligence (AI), cloud computing, medical sensors, enterprise architectures, and precision medicine.- Navigate eBook Access (included with the printed text) provides online or offline access to the digital text from your computer, tablet, or mobile device.
Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance, Fourth Edition
by
Financial realities play an important role in many, if not most, management decisions made in healthcare organizations. Financial acumen is a critical professional competency for all healthcare managers, regardless of the functional area or setting they work in. Fundamentals of Healthcare Finance provides a solid grounding in the principles and tools of accounting and finance that managers use daily. From planning and budgeting to risk analysis and financial reporting, core concepts are clearly explained and supported by real-world examples. This fourth edition has been updated throughout to reflect the most recent payment models and current financial accounting standards. A new chapter describes the role that internal control and governance play in ensuring the accuracy of financial information, as well as strategies for identifying and preventing errors and fraud.
Palliative Care Nursing
by
"This 5th edition is an important achievement; it is a symbol of commitment to the field of palliative nursing, where we have been and where we are going." - Betty Rolling Ferrell, PhD, MA, FAAN, FPCN, CHPN From the Foreword The aging population has only grown since the first edition of this comprehensive and seminal publication nearly 20 years ago. Based on the need to humanize rather than medicalize the illness experience for patients, this text delves into palliative care beyond the specific diseases affecting the patient. Instead, content focuses on the whole person and family. Palliative patients struggle with chronic, debilitating, and painful conditions, and grapple with the fact that life as they knew it has already passed away. Families and friends reciprocally suffer, not knowing how to help and therefore become the secondary victims of the disease. This is not the challenge of a lone nurse, or a single physician, therapist, or social worker. Rather, palliative and hospice care requires the expertise and unique roles of an interprofessional team to help the patient and family strengthen their resilience, continue to find meaning and purpose in life, and cure what can be cured. Palliative Care Nursing, Fifth Edition, delivers advanced empirical, aesthetic, ethical and personal knowledge. This new edition brings an increased focus on outcomes, benchmarking progress, and goals of care. It expounds upon the importance of the cross-disciplinary collaboration introduced in the previous edition. Every chapter in Sections I, II, and III includes content written by a non-nursing member of the interprofessional team. Based on best-evidence and clinical practice guidelines, this text presents comprehensive, targeted interventions responsive to the needs of palliative and hospice patients and family. Each chapter contains compassionate, timely, appropriate, and cost-effective care for diverse populations across the illness trajectory. Key FeaturesThe expanded new edition offers current, comprehensive, one-stop source of highly-relevant clinical information on palliative careLife-span approach: age-appropriate nursing considerations (e.g. geriatric, pediatric and family)Includes disease-specific and symptom-specific nursing management chaptersPromotes a holistic and interdisciplinary approach to palliative careOffers important legal, ethical and cultural considerations related to death and dyingCase Studies with Case Study Conclusion in each clinical chapter New to The Fifth Edition: An expanded chapter on Palliative Care incorporates most up to date scope and standards, information on Basic and Advanced HPNA certification, self-reflection and self-care for nurses.A chapter on Interprofessional CollaborationInstructor Resources: Power points and Test bank
Understanding Patient Safety, Third Edition
by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Now revised and updated--the landmark patient safety primer written by the world's leading authorities Medical errors are the unfortunate byproduct of an increasingly complex healthcare system. Now more than ever, keeping patients safe takes well-trained caregivers, relevant insights from a range of industries, additional investment--and a groundbreaking text like Understanding Patient Safety. Understanding Patient Safety is "must read" for those seeking to master the clinical, organizational, and systems issues of patient safety. In this bestselling primer, patient safety pioneer Robert Wachter and Kiran Gupta put all the essential tools and principles at your fingertips. Engaging and accessible, the book is filled with high-yield cases, analyses, tables, graphics, along with key points and references--all designed to help you optimize quality and safety. Understanding Patient Safety begins with an introduction to patient safety and medical errors. Its second section surveys specific types of medical errors, including those related to surgery, medications, diagnosis, transition and handoff, and infections. The third section covers proven solutions, from establishing reporting systems, to creating a culture of safety. The third edition reflects pivotal new developments in the field, including major updates in diagnostic errors, information technology and patient safety, ambulatory safety, and clinician burnout. Features: *Coverage of human factors and errors at the person-machine interface *Review of workplace issues, including supporting caregivers after major errors *How to organize an effective safety program *Coordination of patient education and training *Overview of the malpractice system *Discussion of the patient's role