College of Nursing Resources

Correctional Nursing Scope and Standards of Practice 3rd Edition by American Nurses Association Correctional Nursing: Scope and Standards of Practice, Third Edition, provides a resource for a better understanding of the expectations for a correctional nurse and how a correctional nurse leads in the healthcare community.

Essentials of Correctional Nursing by Lorry Schoenly (Editor); Catherine M. Knox (Editor) "Essentials of Correctional Nursing is the first new and comprehensive text about this growing field to bepublished in the last decade. Fortunately, the editors have done a great job in all respects...This book should be required reading for all medical practitioners and administrators working in jails or prisons. It certainly belongs on the shelf of every nurse, physician, ancillary healthcare professional and corrections administrator."--Corhealth (The Newsletter of the American Correctional Health Services Association) "I highly recommend Essentials of Correctional Nursing, by Lorry Schoenly, PhD, RN, CCHP-RN andCatherine M. Knox, MN, RN, CCHP-RN, editors. This long-awaited book, dedicated to the professionalspecialty of correctional nursing, is not just a ìgood read,î it is one of ìthose booksî that stays on your desk and may never make it to the bookshelf."--American Jails "Correctional nursing has minimal published texts to support, educate, and provide ongoing bestpractices in this specialty. Schoenly and Knox have successfully met those needs with Essentialsof Correctional Nursing."--Journal of Correctional Health Care Nurses have been described as the backbone of correctional health care. Yet the complex challenges of caring for this disenfranchised population are many. Ethical dilemmas around issues of patient privacy and self-determination abound, and the ability to adhere to the central tenet of nursing, the concept of caring, is often compromised. Essentials of Correctional Nursing supports correctional nurses by providing a comprehensive body of current, evidence-based knowledge about the best practices to deliver optimal nursing care to this population. It describes how nurses can apply their knowledge and skills to assess the full range of health conditions presented by incarcerated individuals and determine the urgency and priority of requisite care. The book describes the unique health needs and corresponding care for juveniles, women, and individuals at the end of life. Chapters are devoted to nursing care for patients with chronic disease, infectious disease, mental illness, or pain, or who are in withdrawal from drugs or alcohol. Chapters addressing health screening, medical emergencies, sick call, and dental care describe how nurses identify, respond to, and manage these health care concerns in the correctional setting. The Essentials of Correctional Nursing was written and reviewed by experienced correctional nurses with thousands of hours of experience. American Nurses Association standards are woven throughout the text, which provide the information needed by nurses studying for certification exams in correctional nursing. The text will also be of value to nurses working in such settings as emergency departments, specialty clinics, hospitals, psychiatric treatment units, community health clinics, substance abuse treatment programs, and long-term care settings, where they may encounter patients who are currently or have previously been incarcerated. Key Features: Addresses legal and ethical issues surrounding correctional nursing Covers common inmate-patient health care concerns and diseases Discusses the unique health needs of juveniles, women, and individuals at the end of life Describes how nurses can safely navigate the correctional environment to create a therapeutic alliance with patients Provides information about health screening, medical emergencies, sick call, and dental care Serves as a core resource in the preparation for correctional nursing certification exams

Standards for Health Services in Jails 2018 by National Commission on Correctional Health Care SummaryNCCHC's nationally recognized standards lay the foundation for constitutionally acceptable health services and can help jails improve health services delivery. The standards address seven general areas: (1) governance and administration; (2) health promotion, safety, and disease prevention; (3) personnel and training; (4) ancillary health care services; (5) patient care and treatment; (6) special needs and services; and (7) medical-legal issues.

Standards for Health Services in Juvenile Detention and Confinement Facilities 2022 by National Commission on Correctional Health Care Developed by leaders in the fields of health, law and corrections, NCCHC's nationally recognized Standards lay the foundation for constitutionally acceptable health services systems and can help juvenile detention and confinement facilities to improve health services delivery. The Standards address nine general areas: health care services and support, patient care and treatment, special needs and services, governance and administration, personnel and training, safety, health records, health promotion and medical-legal issues. The manual provides clear compliance indicators that define expected outcomes and aid in self-assessment, guidelines for facilities of various sizes and best practices recommendations. Glossary and index.

Standards for Health Services in Prisons 2018 by National Commission on Correctional Health Care

Standards for Mental Health Services in Correctional Facilities by National Commission on Correctional Health Care NCCHC's Mental Health Standards parallel its Standards for Health Services in format and substance, and likewise cover the general areas of care and treatment, clinical records, administration, personnel and legal issues. The difference is that they make more explicit what the standards require for adequate delivery of mental health services. Together, these tools can help facilities determine proper levels of care, organize systems more effectively and efficiently, and demonstrate that constitutional requirements are being met.

Digital Health Care by Joseph Tan; Phillip Olla Digital Health Care: Perspectives, Applications, and Cases explores the trends, perspectives, and cases of Digital Healthcare and Informatics (DHI) that are transforming healthcare across the globe.Organized in 5 major connecting parts, this well-conceived text begins by laying out foundational DHI themes before focusing in on key DHI core technologies, developments, methods and challenges -- from big data analytics & artificial intelligence to security and privacy issues, clinical decision support systems, consumer health informatics, and more. It then explores DHI emerging technologies (e.g. sensors and wearable electronics), and concludes with short case studies and critical case questions designed to reinforce conceptual understanding.Written for undergraduates health professionals, this accessible text offers a multidisciplinary perspective that is suitable for use in variety of healthcare disciplines - from allied health and nursing to health administration, public health, and health informatics.Key Features:- Each chapter follows a consistent structure that comprehensively covers a specific DHI topic(s) and related key technological components along with workplace practices from a multidisciplinary perspective.- Real world cases studies help students understand key and illustrate how they can been applied in real-world settings.- Clinical innovations and techniques for evaluating clinical outcomes, such as improved care, performance improvement, and cost reduction in clinical settings, are explored and emphasized throughout the text. - Technology and issues that a transforming the health care industry are explored including standardization, artificial intelligence (AI), cloud computing, medical sensors, enterprise architectures, and precision medicine.- Navigate eBook Access (included with the printed text) provides online or offline access to the digital text from your computer, tablet, or mobile device.

The concise APA handbook by Paul Chamness Iida; American Psychological Association Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand.