Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Learning Languages
CAP Senior Learning Specialist
Non-English Language Resources
As conversations surrounding the importance of equity and inclusion increase, the call for healthcare providers and researchers who can communicate in non-English languages is growing. The ability to communicate in multiple languages (including signed languages) can increase quality of care through better insight into cultural differences, and provide comfort and clarity for patients. For researchers, providing access to scientific information to speakers of other languages can bring new perspectives and ensure that everyone has equal access to important scientific information. According to census data, the most-spoken languages in Texas (after English) are Spanish, Vietnamese, Tagalog (a language of the Philippines), and Chinese, which itself contains multiple languages (Fernandez, 2020).
Resources Related to Non-English Language Resources
The Complete Idiot's Guide to Learning German on Your Own by ISBN: 9780585056296Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Problem-Based Medical Spanish by Edition / Call Number: W 15 A193P 2008ISBN: 9781416036586Publication Date: 2007-12-06
Scientific Writing in a Second Language by ISBN: 9781602353794Publication Date: 2012Full-text access available from eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
- Job and Career Accelerator This link opens in a new windowNote: You will need to create a free account to access this resource.
The user name and password that you create for this database can also be used with the LearningExpress Library. Career management system with occupation profiles, an Occupation Matcher, a database of available jobs and internships, and tools for creating resumes and cover letters. Also includes computer skills training, sample interview questions, and checklists. - LearningExpress Library This link opens in a new windowNote: You will need to create a free account to access this resource.
The user name and password that you create for this database can also be used with the Job and Career Accelerator. Preparation materials for admissions tests, including the MCAT and the PCAT, and for professional certification in healthcare or other fields. Access to hundreds of practice tests, tutorials for popular computer software programs and other skill-building resources, and information about obtaining a Permanent Resident Card or U.S. Citizenship. - Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new windowFull-text access for many Wiley Online Library journals covering life, health, and physical sciences, social science, and the humanities.
- Hispania AATSP journal on teaching of Spanish and Portuguese languages
- The Journal of French Language Studies The Journal of French Language Studies is a bilingual journal that publishes significant work on French theoretical and applied linguistics including but not limited to synchronic and diachronic studies focusing on phonetics/phonology, morphology, syntax, lexis and semantics. Sociolinguistic, variation, corpus, first and second language acquisition, Natural Language Processing (NLP), Global South, digital humanities studies are all welcome as long as they are based on current theories and solid methodologies. In addition to standard French, we are also interested in all Gallo-Romance dialects (including varieties such as Picard, Franco-Provençal, etc.). Survey Articles reviewing the state of the art in a major field will also be considered as well as work in progress for the French Research Notes section and Book Reviews. Special Issues are published once a year and suggestions are welcome year-round.
- Journal of Portuguese Linguistics Journal of Portuguese Linguistics publishes high-quality papers in the field of Portuguese linguistics, including the comparison between any varieties of Portuguese and any other language(s). Published by the Open Library of Humanities and supported by the LingOA network.
- Langkawi: Journal of The Association for Arabic and English Langkawi: Journal of The Association for Arabic and English is a peer-reviewed journal, published twice a year (June and December). Langkawi: Journal of The Association for Arabic and English invites scholars, researchers, and students to contribute the result of their studies and researches in Arabic and English with linguistic studies, both in micro and macro terms, such as applied linguistics, philology, script studies, including Arabic and English language education.
- Russian Language Studies The journal “Russian Language Studies” is specialized in actual problems of the Russian language and methods of teaching Russian as a foreign, non-native, and native language under the conditions of Russian, closely related and unrelated linguistic environment. The journal presents a platform for Russian and foreign scientists, reflects not only linguistic, but also cultural, historical, social aspects of learning and teaching Russian.
- DuolingoFree English courses for speakers of Arabic, Chinese, Czech, French, German, Greek, Hindi, Hungarian, Indonesian, Italian, Japanese, Korean, Polish, Portuguese, Romanian, Russian, Spanish, Thai, Turkish,Ukrainian, and Vietnamese.
- Forvo: The Pronunciation GuideWeb resource featuring native speaker pronunciations of words from over 200 languages.
- Language GuideAn online picture dictionary, with everything from the alphabet to parts of the body to farm animals.
- Learn a LanguageLearn a language right here with hundreds of free language-learning lessons, games and activities.
- Open CultureThis collection features lessons in 48 languages, including Spanish, French, English, Mandarin, Italian, Russian and more.