Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Graphic Medicine Collection
This guide will define and give background information about graphic medicine, provide search strategies for graphic medicine, list titles in the Lewis Library collection from A-Z and by topic, and provide related resources.
Help Us Grow Our GM Collection!
Our graphic medicine collection is just getting started and we would love any suggestions to help our newest collection grow and evolve! If you are HSC faculty, staff, or student and know of or discover other graphic medicine titles you would like us to consider adding to our collection, please submit a Library Purchase Request!
Resources to Find Graphic Medicine
- Lewis Library Catalog This link opens in a new windowSearch "Graphic Medicine" in All Fields or by Subject for related graphic medicine ebooks and materials in the Lewis Library,
- Graphic Medicine Quick Catalog SearchUse this link for a quick search of our graphic medicine titles. It is not currently comprehensive. For the most up-to-date list of Graphic Medicine titles in our collection, go to the "Lewis Library's Graphic Medicine Titles" page on this guide.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowFor a graphic medicine search use: "Graphic Novels as Topic"[MeSH Terms] OR "graphic medicine"[All Fields] OR "graphic novels"[All Fields] OR "manga"[All Fields] OR "comic books"[All Fields] OR "comic strips"[All Fields] OR "graphic pathography"[All Fields] OR "graphic narrative"[All Fields]
Search Terms to Use in Finding Graphic Medicine
Search Tip: When using the phrases below, it might be helpful to put them in " " when you search so that databases and search engines recognize that you are searching for the full phase, rather than each word of the phrase.
- For databases that use MeSH: "Graphic Novels as Topic"[MeSH Terms]
- graphic medicine
- graphic novels
- graphic pathographies
- comic strips
- comic books
- graphic narratives
- try pairing "graphic medicine" with the topic or discipline you seek, example: "graphic medicine" AND nursing, "graphic medicine" AND anxiety