Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
College of Nursing Resources
A one-stop shop for library resources related to nursing! Find texbooks by program, get started on research with nursing specific databases, and learn about APA citing.
Where do I start?
Databases differ in their subject focus, so it's important to choose the right one for your research needs. Below, you'll find a list of both nursing-specific and general research databases. Be sure to review the descriptions to select the most suitable resource for your topic.
For nursing research, PubMed and CINAHL are excellent starting points.
Search HSC Library Databases
Use HSC databases for your literature searches to:
- find journal articles and data not otherwise available, accessible or discoverable through a Google search.
- read the more...descriptions that cover content, access information and any special steps required for use.
- open databases via the proxy link that connects search results to HSC Libraries journal subscriptions.
- see the full range of options -- online, print, interlibrary loan -- for search results.
Databases
- AccessAPN This link opens in a new windowAccessAPN is a comprehensive online resource that can help further the education of advanced practice nursing students. It contains eBooks, test prep question banks, multimedia, nursing case reviews, and more. This content aligns with APN programs, including those for nursing practitioners, clinical nurse specialists, certified registered nurse anesthetists, certified nurse midwives, and more.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to key medical reference texts covering anesthesiology, behavioral medicine, cardiology, and surgery, plus drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, self-assessments, and health news.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to nursing and allied health journals, plus healthcare books, nursing dissertations, selected conference proceedings, and standards of practice.
- Embase This link opens in a new windowInternational biomedical and pharmacological database that indexes journals and conference abstracts. Also contains full-text indexing of drug, disease and medical device data.
- Gale OneFile: Nursing & Allied Health This link opens in a new windowProvide access to authoritative content including full-text titles cited in CINAHL supporting specialized care, treatment, and patient management. This essential resource is versatile and features highlighting and note-taking tools as well as an intuitive interface, providing multiple pathways to key information. Updated daily, this resource will help nursing professionals already working in the field, as well as students pursuing a nursing-focused curriculum.
Exclusive features, including Topic Finder, InterLink, and a mobile-optimized interface, support and enhance the search experience. - PubMed This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. Contains citations covering all fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and preclinical sciences.
- Sage Video: Nursing Collection This link opens in a new windowThe Sage Video Nursing collection goes beyond clinical skills videos to include content that emphasizes “softer” career-building skills and techniques that help nurses better understand and care for the “whole patient.” Some of the specific areas covered include: communication skills, nursing theory and history, global and population health, and nurses’ role in advocacy and policy. Designed to complement nursing clinical skills education, this collection helps students understand and treat the “whole patient” and be able to respond to the rapidly changing health care system.
- Scopus This link opens in a new windowCitation and abstract database of peer-reviewed scientific literature and quality web sources, including articles, conference proceedings, book series, trade publications, patent records, and webpages.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowScientific citation index of leading scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities.
