Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
College of Nursing Resources
A one-stop shop for library resources related to nursing! Find texbooks by program, get started on research with nursing specific databases, and learn about APA citing.
MSN Resources
Master of Science in Nursing (MSN) Textbooks
The titles below are available as e-books from the library. Note: This is not the full list of required textbooks and is subject to change.
Access the links below to connect to full-text from the library catalog.
Core Courses
Advanced physiology and pathophysiology : essentials for clinical practice by
This advanced physiology and pathophysiology text is designed to address the specific learning needs of future nurse practitioners, physician assistants, and other advanced healthcare providers caring for patients across the lifespan. Focusing on practical applications of physiology, it facilitates in-depth understanding of important pathophysiological concepts as they relate to major disorders commonly seen in clinical practice and includes comprehensive pediatric and geriatric considerations. This knowledge is crucial to providing the foundation required to be an informed and confident clinical decision maker.
ISBN: 9780826177087Publication Date: 2021
Applied pathophysiology for the advanced practice nurse by
Applied Pathophysiology for the Advanced Practice Nurse is a comprehensive resource which serves as a bridge between clinical experience and the role of an APN. A comprehensive and concise text, it helps students navigate the data and presentation of symptoms that must be considered when making a diagnosis and recommendation for treatment
ISBN: 9781284255669Publication Date: 2024
McCance and Huether's Pathophysiology by
Learn the what, how, and why of pathophysiology! With easy-to-read, in-depth descriptions of disease, disease etiology, and disease processes, McCance and Huether's Pathophysiology: The Biologic Basis for Disease in Adults and Children, 9th Edition helps you understand the most important and most complex pathophysiology concepts. This updated text includes more than 1,300 full-color illustrations and photographs to make it easier to identify normal anatomy and physiology, as well as alterations of function. It's the most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text available! Unparalleled coverage of pathophysiology content makes this the most comprehensive and authoritative pathophysiology text on the market. Consistent presentation of diseases includes pathophysiology, clinical manifestations, and evaluation and treatment. Over 1,300 full-color illustrations and photographs depict the clinical manifestations of disease and disease processes ? more than in any other pathophysiology text. Algorithms and flowcharts of diseases and disorders make it easy for you to follow the sequential progression of disease processes. Lifespan content includes ten separate pediatric chapters and special sections with aging and pediatrics content. Coverage of rare diseases and epigenetics further explores genetic disease traits. Obesity and Nutritional Disorders chapter thoroughly covers these growing global concerns. Chapter summary reviews provide concise synopses of the main points of each chapter. More than 30 3D animations on the companion Evolve website bring difficult concepts to life for a new perspective on disease processes. NEW! More than 50 new or revised illustrations visually reinforce pathophysiology concepts. NEW! Emerging Science boxes highlight the most current research and clinical developments.
Edition / Call Number: QZ 4 M478p 2023ISBN: 9780323789875Publication Date: 2022-09-13
Mosby's drug guide for nursing students by
Find the information you need to administer drugs safely, accurately, and professionally. Mosby's Drug Guide for Nursing Students, 15th Edition with 2024 Update provides concise profiles of more than 4,000 generic and trade name drugs, including the drugs most recently approved by the FDA. Each drug monograph includes clear guidelines to dosing, administration, and the nursing process, so you’ll always be sure that you’re practicing medication safety. What sets this handbook apart is its detailed coverage of rationales and explanations, IV drugs, and the similarities and differences in common classes of drugs. From well-known pharmacology expert Linda Skidmore-Roth, this drug guide has been trusted by nursing students for more than 25 years.
ISBN: 9780443106743Publication Date: 2023
Elective Courses
Clinical Practice Guidelines – 4th Edition by
Create a blueprint for excellence by establishing a comprehensive foundation for gold-standard palliative care, including evidence-based processes and practices for providing safe and reliable high-quality care for all people living with serious illness, regardless of their diagnosis, prognosis, age or where they live or receive care.
Publication Date: 2018
Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements by
The Code of Ethics for Nurses with Interpretive Statements (The Code) was developed as a guide for carrying out nursing responsibilities in a manner consistent with quality in nursing care and the ethical obligations of the profession. In an effort to provide easy access to The Code, we are providing "view only" access, not only for ANA members, but for all nurses and the public.
ISBN: 9781558105997Publication Date: 2015-01-01
The concise APA handbook by
Most students struggle with learning how to find references, use them effectively, and cite them appropriately in a required format. One of the most common formats is that of APA. The authors all have vast experience teaching writing courses to various levels of students from undergraduates to graduates in other countries. However, there was lacking a book that could explain the basics of APA in simple, easy-to-understand language for non-native speakers of English, who are often unfamiliar with using references and formatting an essay in a particular method. In order to offer English Learner student writers a source of information that is appropriate for their level, and is cost-effective, this updated APA 7th edition guidebook provides students with important information in clear, concise, user-friendly language, as well as to offer practical examples that will help them grasp the concept of secondary research writing. Much of the published materials on the market targets native speakers of English. The problem with this is that they present the nitpicky details of APA in ways that do not make sense to native speakers of English, let alone to those for whom English is not their first language, because the information is presented in very technical terms that are not easy to understand. This handbook presents the same information in simplified terms with images and step-by-step instructions in ways that make sense to both native and non-native English speaking student writers. Additionally, student writers often struggle with understanding the concept of plagiarism, as well as how to find sources, evaluate the appropriateness of sources, and use sources in effective ways (e.g., how to integrate quotes, when to paraphrase, among others). This book provides this important information that is concise and easy to understand.
ISBN: 9781648021855Publication Date: 2020
Palliative Care Nursing by
"This 5th edition is an important achievement; it is a symbol of commitment to the field of palliative nursing, where we have been and where we are going." - Betty Rolling Ferrell, PhD, MA, FAAN, FPCN, CHPN From the Foreword The aging population has only grown since the first edition of this comprehensive and seminal publication nearly 20 years ago. Based on the need to humanize rather than medicalize the illness experience for patients, this text delves into palliative care beyond the specific diseases affecting the patient. Instead, content focuses on the whole person and family. Palliative patients struggle with chronic, debilitating, and painful conditions, and grapple with the fact that life as they knew it has already passed away. Families and friends reciprocally suffer, not knowing how to help and therefore become the secondary victims of the disease. This is not the challenge of a lone nurse, or a single physician, therapist, or social worker. Rather, palliative and hospice care requires the expertise and unique roles of an interprofessional team to help the patient and family strengthen their resilience, continue to find meaning and purpose in life, and cure what can be cured. Palliative Care Nursing, Fifth Edition, delivers advanced empirical, aesthetic, ethical and personal knowledge. This new edition brings an increased focus on outcomes, benchmarking progress, and goals of care. It expounds upon the importance of the cross-disciplinary collaboration introduced in the previous edition. Every chapter in Sections I, II, and III includes content written by a non-nursing member of the interprofessional team. Based on best-evidence and clinical practice guidelines, this text presents comprehensive, targeted interventions responsive to the needs of palliative and hospice patients and family. Each chapter contains compassionate, timely, appropriate, and cost-effective care for diverse populations across the illness trajectory. Key FeaturesThe expanded new edition offers current, comprehensive, one-stop source of highly-relevant clinical information on palliative careLife-span approach: age-appropriate nursing considerations (e.g. geriatric, pediatric and family)Includes disease-specific and symptom-specific nursing management chaptersPromotes a holistic and interdisciplinary approach to palliative careOffers important legal, ethical and cultural considerations related to death and dyingCase Studies with Case Study Conclusion in each clinical chapter New to The Fifth Edition: An expanded chapter on Palliative Care incorporates most up to date scope and standards, information on Basic and Advanced HPNA certification, self-reflection and self-care for nurses.A chapter on Interprofessional CollaborationInstructor Resources: Power points and Test bank
ISBN: 9780826127129Publication Date: 2018-05-01
Understanding Patient Safety, Third Edition by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Now revised and updated--the landmark patient safety primer written by the world's leading authorities Medical errors are the unfortunate byproduct of an increasingly complex healthcare system. Now more than ever, keeping patients safe takes well-trained caregivers, relevant insights from a range of industries, additional investment--and a groundbreaking text like Understanding Patient Safety. Understanding Patient Safety is "must read" for those seeking to master the clinical, organizational, and systems issues of patient safety. In this bestselling primer, patient safety pioneer Robert Wachter and Kiran Gupta put all the essential tools and principles at your fingertips. Engaging and accessible, the book is filled with high-yield cases, analyses, tables, graphics, along with key points and references--all designed to help you optimize quality and safety. Understanding Patient Safety begins with an introduction to patient safety and medical errors. Its second section surveys specific types of medical errors, including those related to surgery, medications, diagnosis, transition and handoff, and infections. The third section covers proven solutions, from establishing reporting systems, to creating a culture of safety. The third edition reflects pivotal new developments in the field, including major updates in diagnostic errors, information technology and patient safety, ambulatory safety, and clinician burnout. Features: *Coverage of human factors and errors at the person-machine interface *Review of workplace issues, including supporting caregivers after major errors *How to organize an effective safety program *Coordination of patient education and training *Overview of the malpractice system *Discussion of the patient's role
ISBN: 9781259860249Publication Date: 2017-11-23
- Your comprehensive guide to the Press Ganey National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators (NDNQI)National Database of Nursing Quality Indicators (NDNQI) is the only—as well as the oldest and largest—comprehensive nurse-sensitive indicators platform that collects and analyzes nursing data
- Artificial intelligence in nursingNursing AI tools include clinical decision support, mobile health and sensor-based technologies, and voice assistants and robotics.
- AHA Team Strategies and Tools to Enhance Performance and Patient Safety (TeamSTEPPS®)Videos of tools and strategies to help you communicate effectively with colleagues, patients, and their families