Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Sustainability
Resources Related to Sustainability
Biodiversity and climate change : transforming the biosphere by
An essential, up-to-date look at the critical interactions between biological diversity and climate change that will serve as an immediate call to action The physical and biological impacts of climate change are dramatic and broad-ranging. People who care about the planet and manage natural resources urgently need a synthesis of our rapidly growing understanding of these issues. In this all-new sequel to the 2005 volume Climate Change andBiodiversity, leading experts in the field summarize observed changes, assess what the future holds, and offer suggested responses. Edited by distinguished conservationist Thomas E. Lovejoy and climate change biologist Lee Hannah, this comprehensive volume includes the latest research and explores emerging topics. From extinction risk to ocean acidification, the future of the Amazon to changes in ecosystem services, and geoengineering to the power of ecosystem restoration, this volume captures the sweep of climate change transformation of the biosphere. An authoritative, up-to-date reference, this is the new benchmark synthesis for climate change scientists, conservationists, managers, policymakers, and educators."The physical and biological impacts of climate change are dramatic and broad-ranging. People who care about the planet and manage natural resources urgently need a synthesis of our rapidly growing understanding of these issues. In this all-new sequel to the 2005 volume Climate Change and Biodiversity, leading experts in the field summarize observed changes, assess what the future holds, and offer suggested responses. From extinction risk to ocean acidification, from the future of the Amazon to changes in ecosystem services, and from geoengineering to the power of ecosystem restoration, this book captures the potential of climate change transform the biosphere."--Page 4 of cover
ISBN: 9780300241198Publication Date: 2019
Breakpoint : reckoning with America's environmental crises by
An insightful look at the American environmental crisis and emerging solutions from the heartland to the coasts in the era of global climate change Eminent ecologist Jeremy B.C. Jackson and award-winning journalist Steve Chapple traveled the length of the Mississippi River interviewing farmers, fishermen, scientists, and policymakers to better understand the mounting environmental problems ravaging the United States. Along their journey, which quickly expands to California, Florida, and New York, the pair uncovered surprising and profound connections between ecological systems and environmental crises across the country. Artfully weaving together independent research and engaging storytelling, Jackson and Chapple examine the looming threats from recent hurricanes and fires, industrial agriculture, river mismanagement, extreme weather events, drought, and rising sea levels that are pushing the country toward the breaking point of ecological and economic collapse. Yet, despite these challenges, the authors provide optimistic and practical solutions for addressing these multidimensional issues to achieve greater environmental stability, human well being, and future economic prosperity. With a passionate call to action, they look hopefully toward emerging and achievable solutions to preserve the country's future.
ISBN: 9780300235036Publication Date: 2018
Climate Change, Media and Culture by
The acceleration of massive global climate change creates a nexus for the examination of power, political rhetoric, science communication, and sustainable development. This book provides an international view of twenty first century environmental communication, from journalism to artistic expression, to critically explore mediated expressions of climate change. Seeking to understand how government policies, environmental news reports, corporate messages, and social influences communicate the complexities of climate change to the public, this book examines the roles that journalism, entertainment, and strategic messaging play in mediating meanings of science, health, economy, and sustainable solutions. It considers the critical importance of the study of climate change communication, which is inherently interdisciplinary, as well as globally and locally impactful. With topics ranging from communicating resilience through environmental journalism and linguistics, the storytelling of climate change explanations in the news, the role of visual communication in capturing and addressing climate change, and the communication of the health impacts of climate change, this book will appeal to undergraduate and graduate students and scholars in environmental sciences, international relations and politics, media, journalism and mass communication.
ISBN: 9781787699670Publication Date: 2019-10-14
Climate change and public health by
Orchestrating and coordinating contributions from more than 75 selected public health specialists and environmental scientists, the editors have developed a concise and comprehensive book that represents a core curriculum on climate change and public health, including key strategies for adaptation and mitigation.
ISBN: 9780190202460Publication Date: 2015
Climate Change and the Health Sector by
The health sector is known to be one of the major contributors towards the greenhouse gas emissions causing the climate crisis, the greatest health threat of the 21st century. This volume positions the health sector as a leader in the fight against climate change and explores the role of the health system in climate policy action. It delivers an overview of the linkages between climate change and the health sector, with chapters on the impact of climate change on health, its connection to pandemics, and its effects on food, nutrition and air quality, while examining gendered and other vulnerabilities. It delves into the different operational aspects of the health sector in India and details how each one can become climate-smart to reduce the health sector's overall carbon footprint, by looking at sustainable procurement, green and resilient healthcare infrastructure, and the management of transportation, energy, water, waste, chemicals, pharmaceuticals and plastics in healthcare. Well supplemented with rigorous case studies, the book will be indispensable for students, teachers, and researchers of environmental studies, health sciences and climate change. It will be useful for healthcare workers, public health officials, healthcare leaders, policy planners and those interested in climate resilience and preparedness in the health sector. The Open Access version of this book, available at http://www.taylorfrancis.com, has been made available under a Creative Commons Attribution-Non Commercial-No Derivatives 4.0 license.
ISBN: 9781000511833Publication Date: 2021-11-22
Nourished Planet by
Mangos from India, pasta from Italy, coffee from Colombia: Every day, we are nourished by a global food system that relies on our planet remaining verdant and productive. But current practices are undermining both human and environmental health, resulting in the paradoxes of obesity paired with malnutrition, crops used for animal feed and biofuels while people go hungry, and more than thirty percent of food being wasted when it could feed the 795 million malnourished worldwide. In Nourished Planet, the Barilla Center for Food & Nutrition offers a global plan for feeding ourselves sustainably. Drawing on the diverse experiences of renowned international experts, the book offers a truly planetary perspective. Essays and interviews showcase Hans Herren, Vandana Shiva, Alexander Mueller, and Pavan Suhkdev, among many others. Together, these experts plot a map towards food for all, food for sustainable growth, food for health, and food for culture. With these ingredients, we can nourish our planet and ourselves.
ISBN: 9781610918954Publication Date: 2018-06-28
The Paris Climate Agreement by
The Paris Climate Agreement explores the issues surrounding the 2015 international agreement to combat climate change. Many nations were shocked when the United States later announced its decision to withdraw from the agreement. The book explores these political ramifications and encourages readers to form their own opinions. Features include a glossary, references, websites, source notes, and an index. Aligned to Common Core Standards and correlated to state standards. Essential Library is an imprint of Abdo Publishing, a division of ABDO.
ISBN: 9781532158292Publication Date: 2018-12-15
Preventing Disease Through Healthy Environments by
This study provides an approximate estimate of how much disease can be prevented by reducing the environmental risks to health. It includes a meta-synthesis of key evidence relating diseases and injuries to the environment. It brings together quantitative estimates of the disease burden attributable to the environment using a combination of approaches that includes CRA, epidemiological data, transmission pathways and expert opinion. The synthesis of evidence linking 133 diseases and injuries, or their groupings, to the environment has been reviewed to provide an overall picture of the disease burden that could be prevented through healthier environments. This second edition of Preventing Disease through Healthy Environments: * Updates the 2006 publication and presents the latest evidence on environment-disease links and their devastating impact on global health. * Systematically analyzes and quantifies how different diseases are impacted by environmental risks, detailing the regions and populations most vulnerable to environmentally mediated death, disease and injury. * Is exhaustive in its coverage -- the health impacts of environmental risks across more than 100 diseases and injuries are covered. Some of these environmental factors are well known, such as unsafe drinking-water and sanitation, and air pollution and indoor stoves; others less so, such as climate change or the built environment. * Highlights promising areas for immediate intervention and gaps where further research is needed to establish the linkages and quantify the burden of disease for various environmental risk factors.
ISBN: 9789241565196Publication Date: 2016-08-16
Sustainability by
A comprehensive resource to sustainability and its application to the environmental, industrial, agricultural and food security sectors Sustainability fills a gap in the literature in order to provide an important guide to the fundamental knowledge and practical applications of sustainability in a wide variety of areas. The authors - noted experts who represent a number of sustainability fields - bring together in one comprehensive volume the broad range of topics including basic concepts, impact assessment, environmental and the socio-economic aspects of sustainability. In addition, the book covers applications of sustainability in environmental, industrial, agricultural and food security, as well as carbon cycle and infrastructural aspects. Sustainability addresses the challenges the global community is facing due to population growth, depletion of non-renewable resources of energy, environmental degradation, poverty, excessive generation of wastes and more. Throughout the book the authors discuss the economics, ecological, social, technological and systems perspectives of sustainability. This important resource: * Explores the fundamentals as well as the key concepts of sustainability; * Covers basic concepts, impact assessment, environmental and socio-economic aspects, applications of sustainability in environmental, industrial, agricultural and food security, carbon cycle and infrastructural aspects; * Argues the essentiality of sustainability in ensuring the propitious future of earth systems; and * Authored by experts from a range of various fields related to sustainability. Written for researchers and scientists, students and academics, Sustainability: Fundamentals and Applications is a comprehensive book that covers the basic knowledge of the topic combined with practical applications.
ISBN: 9781119434030Publication Date: 2020-03-27
- Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new windowFull-text open access, peer-reviewed journals covering agriculture and food science, biology, chemistry, health sciences, mathematics, physics, engineering, business, environmental sciences, and social sciences.
- Gale In Context: Environmental Studies This link opens in a new windowGale In Context: Environmental Studies provides users with comprehensive information, empowering learners to critically analyze and understand important topics that affect people around the world. Explore topics and events within Earth systems, global change, pollution, populations, and more.
Integrating case studies, news, reference materials, academic journals, videos, and more, Environmental Studies is updated daily with relevant information. The resource offers nearly 400 topic, state, and province pages across the science, social studies, and humanities curriculum, including Water Privatization, Ecotourism, Air Pollution, Green Economy, and more. - Global Health (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new windowEBSCO Global Health provides access to the CABI Global Health database through the EBSCOhost platform. While it contains the same core content as CABI’s version, it integrates EBSCOhost’s advanced search tools, user-friendly interface, and features like cross-database searching, citation tools, and personalized folders. Best suited for users already familiar with EBSCOhost or needing enhanced research functionality.
- ProQuest Central This link opens in a new windowA full-text database providing resources in health and medical, social sciences, arts and humanities, education, science and technology, and religion.
- PubMed This link opens in a new windowNational Library of Medicine's interface to the MEDLINE database and to citations from additional sources such as online books, journals not selected for MEDLINE, and articles not yet published. Contains citations covering all fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the healthcare system, and preclinical sciences.
- Eco-Environment and Health Eco-Environment & Health (EEH) is an international and multidisciplinary peer-reviewed journal designed for publications on the frontiers of the ecology, environment and health as well as their related disciplines. EEH focuses on the concept of "One Health" to promote green and sustainable development, dealing with the interactions among ecology, environment and health, and the underlying mechanisms and interventions.
- Ecology, Environment and Conservation Covers new research, news and events impacting ecological, environmental and conservation policy and activism, at both the state and federal levels
- Resources, Environment and Sustainability Resources, Environment and Sustainability is a peer-reviewed transdisciplinary journal aiming at publishing high-quality original research from a broad range of natural, social and engineering fields. The publications emphasize sustainable resource utilization, associated environmental stresses, and potential solutions to achieve resource and environmental sustainability.
- Sustainable Environment Research The primary goal of Sustainable Environment Research (SER) is to publish high quality research articles associated with sustainable environmental science and technology and to contribute to improving environmental practice. The scope of SER includes issues of environmental science, technology, management and related fields, especially in response to sustainable water, energy and other natural resources.
PubMed Search Strategies
To view the citations related to the suggested search string, click on “Current Search Results”. Search strategies are included to allow the user to set up a PubMed search alert. Users can also cut and paste the search strategy into PubMed and combine with additional search terms.
Environmental Sustainability
("climate change"[Title/Abstract] OR "climate change"[MeSH Terms] OR "climate crisis"[Title/Abstract] OR "climate crises"[Title/Abstract] OR "greenhouse gases"[Title/Abstract] OR "sea level rise"[Title/Abstract]) AND ("public health"[MeSH Terms] OR ("public"[All Fields] AND "health"[All Fields]) OR "public health"[All Fields]) AND ("sustainable development"[MeSH Terms] OR "sustain*"[Title/Abstract])
Current PubMed Environmental Sustainability results.
(Note: Results may include preprints. Preprints are not peer reviewed.)
Local (North Texas) Organizations
- Keep Texas Beautiful Nonprofit state implementation of Keep America Beautiful. Offers city wide affiliations which can be found on the main website.
- North Texas Food Policy Alliance Regional collaboration to develop sustainable and equitable food systems in North Texas.
- RCE North Texas An RCE is a collection of organizations in a particular region that are committed to the principles of the United Nations Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). This can include local governments, institutions of higher learning, nonprofits, for-profits, and other groups. The North Texas RCE is located out of University of Texas at Dallas.
- Tarrant Area Food Bank Tarrant Area Food Bank serves 13 counties in North Texas: Tarrant, Bosque, Cooke, Denton, Erath, Hamilton, Hill, Hood, Johnson, Palo Pinto, Parker, Somervell and Wise.
- Tarrant County Food Policy Council Council that aims for all Tarrant county residents to have access to enough nutritious food and culturally appropriate food. This group also advocates for policy changes.
- Texas Conservation Alliance TCA's MISSION Texas Conservation Alliance (TCA) educates Texans and builds alliances to enhance and sustain wildlife habitat and protect our land, air, and water for future generations.
- Texas Master Gardeners Master Gardeners are members of the local community who take an active interest in their lawns, trees, shrubs, flowers and gardens. You can find affiliated Master Gardener programs by county on the main website.
- Trinity Park Conservation Nonprofit organization connecting Dallas residents and the Trinity River.
National/International Organizations
- American Forests American Forests creates healthy and resilient forests, from cities to large natural landscapes, that deliver essential benefits for climate, people, water and wildlife. This nonprofit's mission is to advance through forestry innovation, place-based partnerships to plant and restore forests, and movement building.
- Greenpeace Greenpeace is a global network of independent campaigning organizations that use peaceful protest and creative communication to expose global environmental problems and promote solutions that are essential to a green and peaceful future.
- National Audubon Society The National Audubon Society protects birds and the places they need, today and tomorrow, throughout the Americas using science, advocacy, education, and on-the-ground conservation.
- The National Wildlife Federation The National Wildlife Federation, America's largest and most trusted conservation organization, works across the country to unite Americans from all walks of life in giving wildlife a voice.
- The Nature Conservancy The Nature Conservancy is a global environmental nonprofit working to create a world where people and nature can thrive. Founded in the U.S. through grassroots action in 1951, The Nature Conservancy (TNC) has grown to become one of the most effective and wide-reaching environmental organizations in the world. Thanks to more than a million members and the dedicated efforts of our diverse staff and over 400 scientists, we impact conservation in 76 countries and territories: 37 by direct conservation impact and 39 through partners.
- One Tree Planted Aims to restore forests after fires and floods, create jobs, build communities, and protect habitat for wildlife. For every dollar donated one tree is planted.
- Sierra Club The Sierra Club is the most enduring and influential grassroots environmental organization in the United States. Aims to amplify the power of our millions of members and supporters to defend everyone’s right to a healthy world.