Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Point-of-Care Resources
Questions? Ask Us!
AskALibrarian@unthsc.edu
817-735-2465
Databases
The following HSC databases are not all point-of-care tools; however, they are included because the mobile-friendly websites are easy to search when further information is needed outside a point-of-care mobile application.
- 5MinuteConsult This link opens in a new windowPoint-of-care resource providing diagnosis, treatment, and management information on the most frequently observed diseases and conditions. Also contains workflow algorithms, procedure and PT videos, CME/CE credits, and thousands of images.
- AccessMedicine This link opens in a new windowFull-text access to key medical reference texts covering anesthesiology, behavioral medicine, cardiology, and surgery, plus drug guides, practice guidelines, patient education material, self-assessments, and health news.
- ACP Journal Club ArchivesProvides full-text reviews of original studies and systematic reviews which are methodologically sound and clinically relevant. Selected from more than 100 clinical journals, articles are summarized in value-added abstracts and commented on by clinical experts. ACP Journal Club is searchable back to 2002.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based clinical care tool covering all medical and surgical specialties. Includes full-text access to current-edition texts and journals, as well as images, illustrations, and videos.
- Cochrane Library This link opens in a new windowCollection of six databases containing high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making.
- Diagnosaurus 2.0An authoritative, on-the-spot reference, containing more than a thousand differential diagnoses, searchable by disease, symptom, or organ system.
- Johns Hopkins ABX Guide This link opens in a new windowNote: You will need to access this resource from the library website to create your user account and set up the “uCentral” app.
Antibiotic resource with up-to-date, reliable, scientifically supported information about treating infectious infections. Use it to find or confirm diagnoses with information on infections and clinical considerations, choose the right medications and dosages, assess the likelihood of any bad reactions or interactions, and access medical literature with connections to references. - Lexidrug This link opens in a new windowDrug information system providing access to concise drug overviews, drug interactions, lab tests, and diagnostic procedures.
For access to the mobile app, please use this link:
Lexidrug Mobile App Access
You must register with your UNTHSC affiliated email address.
- Micromedex This link opens in a new window
Micromedex Quick Reference Guide (pdf), Micromedex Mobile Access Quick Guide (pdf)
Suite of evidence-based resources providing information about drugs for healthcare providers, including dosing, interactions, adverse effects, pill images, off-label indications, strength of efficacy, and associated drug consults. - Sanford Guide Web Edition This link opens in a new windowProvides point-of-care recommendations for the treatment of infectious diseases.
- STAT!Ref This link opens in a new windowFull-text medical titles, journals and evidence-based point-of-care authoritative resources.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based, physician-authored clinical information at the point-of-care to improve health outcomes.
- VisualDx This link opens in a new windowPoint-of-care diagnostic system, providing high-quality images to help identify and classify visible patient symptoms.