Gibson D. Lewis Library Libguides
Medical Images & Multimedia
Librarian
Using Images from the Internet:
The Internet is an excellent source of health-related and other images and many images are freely available for the purposes of teaching, studying, presenting and other educational activities. The use of images, even for educational purposes, is governed by the stated terms of use of each website and subject to U.S. Copyright Law.
Permission may need to be obtained to use images in teaching and presenting, and utilizing images for the purpose of publication commonly necessitates permission from the publisher or copyright holder.
- Alan E. Lindsay ECG Learning CenterThe ECG Learning Center is a complete online ECG tutorial with ECG images, explanations and tests as well as a description of American College of Cardiology/American Heart Association minimal ECG clinical competencies.
- Anatomia 1522-1867The University of Toronto has digitized over 4,500 anatomical illustrations from the sixteenth through nineteenth centuries.
- ASH Image BankThe American Society of Hematology maintains this comprehensive collection of over 2,100 hematology-related images. New images are added each month.
- Creative CommonsProvides access to search a variety of sites that carry images available under a CC license.
- DPDx - Parasites A-ZDeveloped by the Centers for Disease Control & Prevention Center for Global Health, the Parasite Image Library documents parasites of public health concern.
- FoodiesFeed"Food photographers from all around the world share their photos under the Creative Commons Zero (CC0) license to help... make the online space related to food more beautiful and eliminate all the ugly sterile stock photos that people still keep using."
- Free Stocks"Free stock photos - feel free to use them both in personal and commercial projects."
- Gratisography"Free high-resolution pictures you can use on your personal and commercial projects, free of copyright restrictions." Created by Ryan McGuire
- Health Education Assets Library (HEAL)The Health Education Assets Library (HEAL) is a collection of over 22,000 free available digital materials for health sciences education.
- Human Brain AtlasCreated and maintained by the Michigan State University Brain Biodiversity Bank, the Human Brain Atlas contains an extensive collection of MRI and slide images of the human brain as well as those of various animals.
- Life of PixA resource created by the LEEROY creative agency offering free high-resolution photos with no copyright restrictions.
- MMT StockA collection of high resolution photos provided by Jeffrey Betts
- Multi-Dimensional Human EmbryoThe Multi-Dimensional Human Embryo project chronicles the growth of the human embryo through the Carnegie stages of embryonic development via MRI images, animations and photos.
- National Eye InstituteThe National Eye Institute website includes a searchable image gallery of ophthalmology-related images.
- NCI Visuals OnlineThe National Cancer Institute Visuals Online includes over 2,500 biomedical images, many cancer-related.
- New Old Stock"Vintage photos from the public archives. Free of known copyright restrictions. Recapturing history."
- NIH Image BankThe NIH Image Bank contains images from the collections of 27 institutes that comprise the National Institutes of Health.
- Open-iOpen-i is an open access biomedical images search engine from the National Library of Medicine.
- Open PhotoA photo sharing platform created by Michael Jastremski; photos under CC licensing
- PathoPic Pathology Image DatabaseThis database of pathology images can be searched by topography, keyword, image type or diagnosis.
- PexelsPexels is a source for free stock photos, including those related to health and medicine.
- Pic JumboFree photos for personal and commercial use.
- Picography"Gorgeous free images to use however you like"
- PixabayPixabay is a source for various images, including those related to health and medicine.
- Public Health Image LibraryA Working Group at the CDC compiled this gallery of public health-related images arranged hierarchically by people, places and science.
- The Smithsonian & Open Access Image DatabaseThis database is a source for downloading, sharing, and reusing millions of the Smithsonian’s images, including those related to research, health, and medicine.
- UnsplashUnsplash is a source for free stock photos, including those related to health and medicine.
- WebPath Internet Pathology LaboratoryThe Internet Pathology Laboratory includes over 2,700 images of gross and microscopic pathology findings as well as tutorials and practice exams on the subject.
- Wikimedia CommonsWikimedia Commons has a large collection of images that are licensed using the Creative Commons licensing system. Restrictions, if any, are listed with the image. It is important to recognize that if you use Wikimedia, you are relying on copyright information provided by the person uploading the image. You should review the copyright information carefully to be sure it appears to be accurate.