Rural Health

The world's largest ongoing telephone health survey system, which has been tracking health conditions and risk behaviors in the United States since 1984. The site features sample questionnaires, interactive databases, quick comparison charts, and downloadable data files.

Wide-ranging Online Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER) provides a single point of access to the vast range of data offered by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. It includes reports and quantitative data on chronic diseases, health practice and prevention, communicable diseases, injuries, occupational health, environmental health, and reference data.

The goal of Community Health Status Indicators (CHSI) is to provide an overview of key health indicators for local communities and to encourage dialogue about actions that can be taken to improve a community’s health. The CHSI report contains over 200 measures for each of the 3,141 United States counties.

This collection of 50 reports – one per state – helps community leaders see that where we live, learn, work, and play influences how healthy we are and how long we live. The Robert Wood Johnson Foundation is collaborating with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute to develop these Rankings for each state’s counties.

The DRC includes more than 100 standardized indicators from the two extensive state-based surveys on health and health care of children, youth, and families from The National Survey of Children's Health (NSCH) and The National Survey of Children with Special Health Care Needs (NS-CSHCN). It is searchable by age, race/ethnicity, income, health status, and state.

Healthy People provides science-based, 10-year national objectives for improving the health of all Americans. For three decades, Healthy People has established benchmarks and monitored progress over time in order to: encourage collaborations across communities and sectors; empower individuals toward make informed health decisions; and measure the impact of prevention activities.

State-level data for 111 measures of child well-being including education, health, insurance and poverty.

The Surveillance, Epidemiology and End Result (SEER) Public-Use Data is the nation’s major tool for surveillance of cancer incidence, prevalence, and mortality. Data sets are available from 1973 to 2009.

The National Center for Health Statistics is the nation's principal health statistics agency. NCHS has two major types of data systems: systems based on populations, containing data collected through personal interviews or examinations; and systems based on records, containing data collected from vital and medical records. The website contains questionnaires, data sets, results, and other related information.

Healthy People 2010: A Companion Document for Rural Areas includes literature reviews and models for practice for rural health priorities.